الاثنين، 14 مارس 2011 19: 11

إرهاق عصبي

قيم هذا المقال
(1 صوت)

الإجهاد العقلي هو نتيجة طبيعية لعملية التكيف مع عبء العمل العقلي (MWL). يمكن أن يؤدي الحمل طويل الأجل أو الكثافة العالية لمتطلبات العمل إلى عواقب قصيرة المدى للحمل الزائد (التعب) ونقص الحمل (الرتابة والشبع) وعواقب طويلة الأجل (مثل أعراض الإجهاد والأمراض المرتبطة بالعمل). يمكن تحقيق الحفاظ على التنظيم المستقر للإجراءات أثناء التعرض للضغط من خلال التغييرات في أسلوب عمل الفرد (عن طريق تغيير استراتيجيات البحث عن المعلومات واتخاذ القرار) ، في خفض مستوى الحاجة إلى الإنجاز (عن طريق إعادة تعريف المهام وتقليل معايير الجودة) ومن خلال زيادة تعويضية للجهد النفسي الفسيولوجي وبعد ذلك تقليل الجهد أثناء وقت العمل.

يمكن تصور هذا الفهم لعملية الإجهاد الذهني كعملية معاملات لتنظيم العمل أثناء فرض عوامل التحميل التي لا تشمل فقط المكونات السلبية لعملية الإجهاد ولكن أيضًا الجوانب الإيجابية للتعلم مثل التراكم والضبط وإعادة الهيكلة و الدافع (انظر الشكل 2).

الشكل 1. مكونات عملية الإجهاد وعواقبها

ERG290F1

يمكن تعريف الإرهاق العقلي بأنه عملية إنقاص يمكن عكسه بمرور الوقت للاستقرار السلوكي في الأداء والمزاج والنشاط بعد وقت عمل طويل. يمكن عكس هذه الحالة مؤقتًا عن طريق تغيير متطلبات العمل أو التأثيرات البيئية أو التحفيز ويمكن عكسها تمامًا عن طريق النوم.

التعب العقلي هو نتيجة لأداء المهام بمستوى عالٍ من الصعوبة التي تنطوي في الغالب على معالجة المعلومات و / أو التي تستغرق وقتًا طويلاً. على عكس الرتابة ، فإن استرجاع من الإنقاصات تستغرق وقتًا طويلاً ولا تحدث فجأة بعد تغيير ظروف المهمة. يتم تحديد أعراض التعب على عدة مستويات من التنظيم السلوكي: عدم التنظيم في التوازن البيولوجي بين البيئة والكائن الحي ، وعدم التنظيم في العمليات المعرفية للإجراءات الموجهة نحو الهدف وفقدان الاستقرار في التحفيز الموجه نحو الهدف ومستوى الإنجاز.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

يمكن التعرف على أعراض الإرهاق الذهني في جميع الأنظمة الفرعية لنظام معالجة المعلومات البشرية:

  • الإدراك: انخفاض حركات العين ، وتقليل التمييز بين الإشارات ، وتدهور العتبة
  • معالجة المعلومات: تمديد وقت القرار ، زلات العمل ، عدم اليقين في القرار ، الحجب ، "الاستراتيجيات المحفوفة بالمخاطر" في تسلسل العمل ، الاضطرابات في التنسيق الحسي الحركي للحركات
  • وظائف الذاكرة: إطالة أمد المعلومات في التخزين قصير المدى ، اضطرابات في عمليات التدريب في الذاكرة قصيرة المدى ، تأخير في نقل المعلومات في الذاكرة طويلة المدى وفي عمليات البحث في الذاكرة.

التشخيص التفريقي للإرهاق العقلي

توجد معايير كافية للتمييز بين التعب الذهني والرتابة والشبع الذهني والضغط (بالمعنى الضيق) (الجدول 1).

الجدول 1. التفريق بين العديد من النتائج السلبية للإجهاد العقلي

المعايير

إرهاق عصبي

روتيني

شبع        

إجهاد

القفل
حالة

ملائمة سيئة من حيث الحمولة الزائدة
الشروط المسبقة

تناسب ضعيف في الشروط
من النقص
الشروط المسبقة

فقدان الإحساس بالمهام

الأهداف المتصورة
كتهديد

مود

تعب بدون
استنفاد الملل

مع التعب
ملل

التهيجية

القلق والتهديد
نفور

عاطفي، المشاعر
تقييم

متعدد

متعدد

زيادة النفور العاطفي

زيادة القلق

تفعيل

بشكل متواصل
انخفض

ليس بشكل مستمر
انخفض

زيادة

زيادة

التعافى

استهلاك الوقت

فجأة بعد تناوب المهام

?

طويل الأجل
اضطرابات في الانتعاش

الوقاية

تصميم المهام ،
تدريب ، استراحة قصيرة
نظام

إثراء المحتوى الوظيفي

تحديد الأهداف
برامج
والعمل
تخصيب

إعادة تصميم الوظيفة ،
إدارة الصراع والضغوط

 

درجات التعب العقلي

إن ظواهر التعب العقلي الموصوفة جيدًا (Schmidtke 1965) والعديد من طرق التقييم الصحيحة والكم الهائل من النتائج التجريبية والميدانية توفر إمكانية القياس الترتيبي لدرجات التعب العقلي (Hacker and Richter 1994). يعتمد القياس على قدرة الفرد على التعامل مع الانخفاضات السلوكية:

مستوى 1: الأداء الأمثل والفعال: لا توجد أعراض انخفاض في الأداء والمزاج ومستوى التنشيط.

مستوى 2: تعويض كامل يتميز بزيادة التنشيط النفسي والفسيولوجي المحيطي (على سبيل المثال ، كما تم قياسه بواسطة مخطط كهربية عضلات الأصابع) ، زيادة ملحوظة في الجهد العقلي ، زيادة التباين في معايير الأداء.

مستوى 3: تعويض إضافي إضافي لتلك الموصوفة في المستوى 2: انزلاقات فعلية ، إرهاق محسوس ، زيادة النشاط النفسي-الفسيولوجي (التعويضي) في المؤشرات المركزية ، معدل ضربات القلب ، ضغط الدم.

مستوى 4: انخفاض الكفاءة بالإضافة إلى تلك الموصوفة في المستوى 3: انخفاض معايير الأداء.

مستوى 5: بعد مزيد من الاضطرابات الوظيفية: اضطرابات في العلاقات الاجتماعية والتعاون في مكان العمل ؛ أعراض التعب الإكلينيكي مثل فقدان جودة النوم والإرهاق الحيوي.

منع التعب العقلي

إن تصميم هياكل المهام ، والبيئة ، وفترات الراحة أثناء وقت العمل ، والنوم الكافي هي طرق لتقليل أعراض التعب العقلي حتى لا تحدث عواقب إكلينيكية:

1. التغييرات في هيكل المهام. إن تصميم الشروط المسبقة للتعلم الكافي وهيكلة المهام ليس فقط وسيلة لتعزيز تطوير هياكل وظيفية فعالة ، ولكنه ضروري أيضًا للوقاية من عدم الكفاءة من حيث العبء العقلي الزائد أو الانقطاع:

    • يمكن تخفيف أعباء معالجة المعلومات من خلال تطوير تمثيلات داخلية فعالة للمهام وتنظيم المعلومات. التوسيع الناتج للقدرة المعرفية سيتوافق مع احتياجات المعلومات والموارد بشكل أكثر ملاءمة.
    • إن التقنيات التي تركز على الإنسان مع التوافق العالي بين ترتيب المعلومات كما يتم تقديمها والمهمة المطلوبة (نورمان 1993) ستقلل من الجهد العقلي اللازم لإعادة تشفير المعلومات ، وبالتالي تخفيف أعراض التعب والإجهاد.
    • قد يؤدي التنسيق المتوازن جيدًا لمستويات اللوائح المختلفة (لأنها تنطبق على المهارات والقواعد والمعرفة) إلى تقليل الجهد وزيادة الموثوقية البشرية (Rasmussen 1983).
    • إن تدريب العاملين في تسلسل العمل الموجه بالأهداف قبل حدوث المشاكل الفعلية سوف يخفف من إحساسهم بالجهد الذهني من خلال جعل وظائفهم أكثر وضوحًا ، وأكثر قابلية للتنبؤ بها ، وأكثر وضوحًا تحت سيطرتهم. سيتم تخفيض مستوى التنشيط النفسي الفسيولوجي بشكل فعال.

     

      2. استحداث أنظمة استراحات قصيرة الأمد أثناء العمل. تعتمد الآثار الإيجابية لمثل هذه الاستراحات على مراعاة بعض الشروط المسبقة. تكون فترات الراحة القصيرة أكثر كفاءة من فترات الراحة الطويلة الأقل ؛ تعتمد التأثيرات على جدول زمني ثابت وبالتالي متوقع ؛ ويجب أن يكون لمحتوى فترات الراحة وظيفة تعويضية لمتطلبات الوظيفة البدنية والعقلية.

      3. الاسترخاء والنوم الكافيين. قد تدعم برامج مساعدة الموظف الخاصة وتقنيات إدارة الإجهاد القدرة على الاسترخاء والوقاية من تطور إرهاق التأريخ (Sethi، Caro and Schuler 1987).

       

      الرجوع

      عرض 9454 مرات آخر تعديل يوم الجمعة 15 نوفمبر 2019 16:07
      المزيد في هذه الفئة: «اليقظة

      "إخلاء المسؤولية: لا تتحمل منظمة العمل الدولية المسؤولية عن المحتوى المعروض على بوابة الويب هذه والذي يتم تقديمه بأي لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية ، وهي اللغة المستخدمة للإنتاج الأولي ومراجعة الأقران للمحتوى الأصلي. لم يتم تحديث بعض الإحصائيات منذ ذلك الحين. إنتاج الطبعة الرابعة من الموسوعة (4). "

      المحتويات

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Monday, 14 March 2011 19:11

Mental Fatigue

Written by
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Mental strain is a normal consequence of the coping process with mental workload (MWL). Long-term load or a high intensity of job demands can result in short-term consequences of overload (fatigue) and underload (monotony, satiation) and in long-term consequences (e.g., stress symptoms and work-related diseases). The maintenance of the stable regulation of actions while under strain can be realized through changes in one’s action style (by variation of strategies of information-seeking and decision-making), in the lowering of the level of need for achievement (by redefinition of tasks and reduction of quality standards) and by means of a compensatory increase of psychophysiological effort and afterwards a decrease of effort during work time.

This understanding of the process of mental strain can be conceptualized as a transactional process of action regulation during the imposition of loading factors which include not only the negative components of the strain process but also the positive aspects of learning such as accretion, tuning and restructuring and motivation (see figure 2).

Figure 1. Components of the process of strain and its consequences

ERG290F1

Mental fatigue can be defined as a process of time-reversible decrement of behavioural stability in performance, mood and activity after prolonged working time. This state is temporarily reversible by changing the work demands, the environmental influences or stimulation and is completely reversible by means of sleep.

Mental fatigue is a consequence of performing tasks with a high level of difficulty that involve predominantly information processing and/or are of protracted duration. In contrast with monotony, the recovery of the decrements is time-consuming and does not occur suddenly after changing task conditions. Symptoms of fatigue are identified on several levels of behavioural regulation: dis-regulation in the biological homeostasis between environment and organism, dis-regulation in the cognitive processes of goal-directed actions and loss of stability in goal-oriented motivation and achievement level.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Symptoms of mental fatigue can be identified in all subsystems of the human information processing system:

  • perception: reduced eye movements, reduced discrimination of signals, threshold deterioration
  • information processing: extension of decision time, action slips, decision uncertainty, blockings, “risky strategies” in action sequences, disturbances in sensorimotor coordination of movements
  • memory functions: prolongation of information in ultrashort-term storages, disturbances in the rehearsal processes in short-term memory, delay in information transmission in long-term memory and in memory searching processes.

Differential Diagnostic of Mental Fatigue

Sufficient criteria exist to differentiate amongst menta fatigue, monotony, mental satiation and stress (in a narrow sense) (table 1).

Table 1. Differentiation among several negative consequences of mental strain

Criteria

Mental fatigue

Monotony

Satiation        

Stress

Key
condition

Poor fit in terms of overload
preconditions

Poor fit in terms
of underload
preconditions

Loss of perceived sense of tasks

Goals perceived
as threatening

Mood

Tiredness without
boredom exhaustion

Tiredness with
boredom

Irritability

Anxiety, threat
aversion

Emotional
evaluation

Neutral

Neutral

Increased affective aversion

Increased anxiety

Activation

Continuously
decreased

Not continuously
decreased

Increased

Increased

Recovery

Time-consuming

Suddenly after task alternation

?

Long-term
disturbances in recovery

Prevention

Task design,
training, short-break
system

Enrichment of job content

Goal-setting
programmes
and job
enrichment

Job redesign,
conflict and stress management

 

Degrees of Mental Fatigue

The well-described phenomenology of mental fatigue (Schmidtke 1965), many valid methods of assessment and the great amount of experimental and field results offer the possibility of an ordinal scaling of degrees of mental fatigue (Hacker and Richter 1994). The scaling is based on the individual’s capacity to cope with behavioural decrements:

Level 1: Optimal and efficient performance: no symptoms of decrement in performance, mood and activation level.

Level 2: Complete compensation characterized by increased peripheral psycho-physiological activation (e.g., as measured by electromyogram of finger muscles), perceived increase of mental effort, increased variability in performance criteria.

Level 3: Labile compensation additional to that described in level 2: action slips, perceived fatigue, increasing (compensatory) psycho-physiological activity in central indicators, heart rate, blood pressure.

Level 4: Reduced efficiency additional to that described in level 3: decrease of performance criteria.

Level 5: Yet further functional disturbances: disturbances in social relationships and cooperation at workplace; symptoms of clinical fatigue like loss of sleep quality and vital exhaustion.

Prevention of Mental Fatigue

The design of task structures, environment, rest periods during working time and sufficient sleep are the ways to reduce symptoms of mental fatigue in order that no clinical consequences will occur:

1. Changes in the structure of tasks. Designing of preconditions for adequate learning and task structuring is not only a means of furthering the development of efficient job structures, but is also essential for the prevention of a misfit in terms of mental overload or underload:

  • Information processing burdens can be relieved by developing efficient internal task representations and organization of information. The resulting enlargement of cognitive capacity will match information needs and resources more aptly.
  • Human-centred technologies with high compatibility between the order of information as it is presented and the required task (Norman 1993) will reduce the mental effort necessary for information recoding and, in consequence, relieve symptoms of fatigue and stress.
  • Well-balanced coordination of different levels of regulations (as they apply to skills, rules and knowledge) may reduce effort and, moreover, increase human reliability (Rasmussen 1983).
  • Training workers in goal-directed action sequences in advance of actual problems will lighten their sense of mental effort by making their jobs clearer, more predictable and more evidently under their control. Their psychophysiological activation level will be effectively reduced.

 

2. Introduction of systems of short-term breaks during work. The positive effects of such breaks depend on the observance of some preconditions. More short breaks are more efficient than fewer long breaks; effects depend on a fixed and therefore anticipatable time schedule; and the content of the breaks should have a compensatory function to the physical and mental job demands.

3. Sufficient relaxation and sleep. Special employee-assistant programmes and stress-management techniques may support the ability of relaxation and the prevention of the development of chronicle fatigue (Sethi, Caro and Schuler 1987).

 

Back

Read 3970 times Last modified on Thursday, 13 October 2011 20:32
More in this category: « Vigilance

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides