週一,三月21 2011 18:45

輔助醫療人員和救護車服務員

評價這個項目
(1投票)

輔助醫療人員,包括緊急醫療技術人員 (EMT) 和救護車服務員,在事故、災難或急性疾病現場提供初步醫療響應,並將患者運送到可以提供更明確治療的地點。 醫療設備和通信的進步提高了這些工作人員在前往急救中心途中對受害者進行複蘇和穩定的能力。 EMT 能力的提高與他們現在在履行職責時面臨的危險的增加相匹配。 緊急醫療響應者作為一個小單位的成員工作,通常是兩到三個人。 工作任務通常必須在設備簡陋且出入受限的地點快速執行。 工作環境可能存在無法預料或無法控制的生物、物理和化學危害。 動態、快速變化的情況和充滿敵意的患者和周圍環境會放大工作的危險。 在設計減少和預防工作傷害的策略時,考慮輔助醫務人員的健康風險很重要。

輔助醫務人員面臨的風險大致分為四大類:身體危害、吸入風險、感染暴露和壓力。 身體危害既包括與工作任務相關的肌肉骨骼損傷,也包括工作環境的影響。 沉重和笨拙的舉重是這些工人的主要身體危害,佔傷害的三分之一以上。 背部拉傷是最常見的傷害類型; 一項回顧性調查發現,所有報告的傷害中有 36% 是由於下背部拉傷造成的(Hogya 和 Ellis,1990 年)。 患者和設備的提升似乎是下背部受傷的主要因素; 近三分之二的背部受傷發生在現場應對。 經常性背部受傷很常見,可能導致長期或永久性殘疾以及有經驗的工人提前退休。 其他常見的傷害包括頭部、頸部、軀幹、腿部和手臂的挫傷、腳踝扭傷、手腕和手部扭傷以及手指受傷。 跌倒、襲擊(患者和旁觀者)和機動車事故是額外的主要傷害來源。 碰撞佔機動車事故的大部分; 相關因素可能是繁重的工作日程、時間壓力、惡劣的天氣條件和培訓不足。

冷熱環境造成的熱損傷已有報導。 當地的氣候和天氣條件,以及不合適的衣服和設備,可能會導致熱應激和冷傷。 在救護人員中也觀察到因接觸警報器而加速聽力損失,警報器會產生超過規定閾值的環境噪音水平。

吸入煙霧和氣體中毒,包括一氧化碳,對護理人員來說是嚴重的呼吸危害。 雖然很少發生,但這些暴露可能會產生可怕的後果。 到達現場的響應者最初可能沒有為救援工作做好充分準備,並且在獲得額外的幫助和設備之前可能會被煙霧或有毒氣體所克服。

與其他醫護人員一樣,輔助醫務人員感染血源性致病病毒的風險增加,尤其是乙型肝炎病毒 (HBV) 和可能的丙型肝炎病毒。在 13% 至 22% 的急診患者中發現了 HBV 感染的血清學標誌物醫療技術人員的患病率是普通人群的三到四倍(Pepe 等人,1986 年)。 在一項調查中,發現感染證據與擔任 EMT 的年限相關。 為醫護人員制定的防止 HBV 和 HIV 傳播的措施適用於輔助醫療技術人員,並在本文件的其他地方進行了概述 百科全書. 附帶一提,使用乳膠手套預防血源性病原體可能會增加接觸性蕁麻疹和其他橡膠產品過敏表現的風險,類似於醫院環境中的醫護人員所注意到的情況。

輔助醫療和救護車工作涉及在不受控制和危險的環境中工作,以及在設備和時間壓力有限的情況下對重要決策負責,這會導致高水平的職業壓力。 專業表現受損、工作不滿和對患者失去關注,所有這些都可能由壓力的影響引起,危及提供者和公眾。 重大災難和其他創傷性事件後精神衛生工作者的干預,以及其他減少急救人員倦怠的策略,已被提議用於減輕壓力在該領域的破壞性影響(Neale 1991)。

很少有針對輔助醫務人員的篩查和預防措施的具體建議。 所有接觸傳染性液體和材料的員工都應接受血源性病原體培訓和 HBV 免疫接種。 在美國,醫療保健機構必須通知在未採取保護措施的情況下暴露於血源性疾病或空氣傳播的罕見或罕見傳染病(包括結核病)的應急響應人員(NIOSH 1989)。 其他國家也有類似的指南和法規(疾病控制實驗室中心 1995 年)。 遵守針對傳染性病原體(例如,麻疹-腮腺炎-風疹疫苗)和破傷風的標準免疫接種實踐至關重要。 如果存在高風險暴露的可能性,建議定期篩查結核病。 已提出適當設計的設備、身體力學指導和現場危險教育以減少舉重傷害,儘管執行大量救護車工作的環境可能會使設計最完善的控制措施失效。 應仔細考慮輔助醫療工作的環境,並在必要時提供適當的衣服和防護設備。 呼吸器培訓適用於可能接觸有毒氣體和煙霧的人員。 最後,必須牢記壓力對輔助醫務人員和急救技術人員的侵蝕作用,並應制定諮詢和乾預策略以減輕其影響。

 

返回

更多內容 6162 最後修改於 30 年 2022 月 22 日星期六 11:XNUMX

" 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

內容

緊急和安全服務參考

Bigbee, D. 1993。致病微生物——執法部門的無聲敵人。 FBI執法公牛 1993 年 1 月:5-XNUMX。

Binder, S. 1989。急性有害物質洩漏造成的死亡、傷害和疏散。 Am J公共衛生 79:1042-1044。

Brown, J 和 A Trottier。 1995. 評估警察的心臟風險。 臨床法醫學雜誌 2:199-204。

考克斯,路。 1994. 急診室有害物質暴露受害者的去污和管理。 安急診醫學 23(4):761-770。

戴維斯、RL 和 FK Mostofi。 1993. 暴露在手持式雷達下的警察睾丸癌群。 美國醫學雜誌 24:231-233。

弗蘭克、WD 和 DF 安德森。 1994. 執法人員體力活動與心血管疾病危險因素的關係。 職業醫學雜誌 36(10):1127-1132。

Hall、HI、VD Dhara、PA Price-Green 和 WE Kaye。 1994. 監測涉及危險物質的緊急事件——美國,1990-1992 年。 MMWR CDC 監測摘要 43(2):1-6。

Hogya, PT 和 L Ellis。 1990. 繁忙的城市 EMS 系統中人員的傷害概況評估。 美國醫學雜誌 8:308-311。

疾病控制實驗室中心。 1995. 關於為緊急響應者建立暴露後通知協議指南的全國共識。 加拿大傳染病報告 21–19:169–175。

美國國家職業安全與健康研究所 (NIOSH)。 1989. 公共安全和應急響應工作者課程指南。 預防人類免疫缺陷病毒和乙型肝炎病毒的傳播。 辛辛那提:NIOSH。

尼爾,AV。 1991. 急救醫療技術人員的工作壓力。 職業醫學雜誌 33:991-997。

Pepe、PE、FB Hollinger、CL Troisi 和 D Heiberg。 1986. 城市急救醫療服務人員的病毒性肝炎風險。 安急診醫學 15:454-457。

Showalter、PS 和 MF 邁爾斯。 1994. 1980-1989 年間美國的自然災害作為石油、化學品或放射性物質的釋放劑。 風險肛門 14(2):169-182。

Souter、FCG、C van Netten 和 R Brands。 1992. 職業接觸指紋粉的警察的發病率。 國際環境健康研究雜誌 2:114-119。

Sparrow, D、HE Thomas 和 ST Weiss。 1983. 參與規范老齡化研究的警察中的冠心病。 Am J Epidemiol 118(第 4 期):508–512。

Trottier、A、J Brown 和 GA Wells。 1994. 法醫鑑定工作者的呼吸系統症狀。 臨床法醫學雜誌 1:129-132。

Vena、JE、JM Violanti、J Marshall 和 RC Fiedler。 1986. 市政工人隊列的死亡率:III:警察。 美國醫學雜誌 10:383-397。

Violanti、JM、JE Vena 和 JR Marshall。 1986. 警察的疾病風險和死亡率:新證據和促成因素。 J 警察科學管理 14(1):17-23。

Winder, C, A Tottszer, J Navratil 和 R Tandon。 1992. 危險材料事故報告——全國試驗的結果。 J危險墊 31(2):119-134。

Monday, 21 March 2011 18:45

Paramedical Personnel and Ambulance Attendants

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Paramedical personnel, including emergency medical technicians (EMTs) and ambulance attendants, provide the initial medical response at the scene of an accident, disaster or acute illness, and transport patients to the point where more definitive treatment can be rendered. Advances in medical equipment and communications have increased the capabilities of these workers to resuscitate and stabilize victims en route to an emergency centre. The increased capabilities of EMTs is matched by the increase in hazards which they now face in performance of their duties. The emergency medical responder works as a member of a small unit, usually two to three persons. Job tasks must often be performed rapidly in poorly equipped locations with limited access. The work environment may present unanticipated or uncontrolled biological, physical and chemical hazards. Dynamic, rapidly changing situations and hostile patients and surroundings magnify the dangers of the work. A consideration of the health risks to paramedical personnel is important in the design of strategies to reduce and prevent injury at work.

Risks to paramedical personnel fall broadly into four main categories: physical hazards, inhalation risks, infectious exposures and stress. Physical hazards involve both musculoskeletal injuries related to job tasks, and effects of the environment in which the work takes place. Heavy and awkward lifting is the predominant physical hazard for these workers, accounting for over one-third of injuries. Back strains constitute the most common type of injury; one retrospective survey found 36% of all reported injuries were due to lower-back strain (Hogya and Ellis 1990). Patient and equipment lifting appear to be the main factors in lower-back injury; nearly two-thirds of back injuries occur at the scene of response. Recurrent back injuries are common and may lead to prolonged or permanent disability and early retirement of experienced workers. Other frequent injuries include contusions of the head, neck, trunk, legs and arms, ankle sprains, wrist and hand sprains and finger wounds. Falls, assaults (both by patients and by bystanders) and motor vehicle accidents are additional major sources of injury. Collisions account for the majority of motor vehicle accidents; associated factors may be heavy work schedules, time pressures, poor weather conditions and inadequate training.

Thermal injury from both cold and hot environments has been reported. Local climate and weather conditions, along with improper clothing and equipment, may contribute to heat stress and cold injury. Accelerated hearing loss from exposure to sirens, which produce ambient noise levels exceeding mandated thresholds, has also been observed in ambulance personnel.

Smoke inhalation and poisoning by gases, including carbon monoxide, represent significant respiratory hazards for paramedics. Though occurring infrequently, these exposures can have dire consequences. Responders arriving on the scene may initially be inadequately prepared for rescue work, and can be overcome by smoke or toxic gases before additional help and equipment are available.

In common with other health-care workers, paramedical personnel are at increased risk of infection with blood-borne pathogenic viruses, especially hepatitis B virus (HBV) and presumably hepatitis C. Serologic markers for HBV infection were found in 13 to 22% of emergency medical technicians, a prevalence level three to four times that of the general population (Pepe et al. 1986). In one survey, evidence of infection was found to correlate with years worked as an EMT. Measures for protection against HBV and HIV transmission established for health-care workers apply to paramedical technicians, and are outlined elsewhere in this Encyclopaedia. As a sidelight, use of latex gloves for protection against blood-borne pathogens may lead to an increased risk for contact urticaria and other manifestations of allergy to rubber products similar to those noted in health-care workers in hospital settings.

Paramedical and ambulance work, which involves work in uncontrolled and hazardous environments as well as responsibility for important decisions with limited equipment and time pressures, leads to high levels of occupational stress. Impaired professional performance, work dissatisfaction and loss of concern for patients, all of which may arise from the effects of stress, endanger both providers and the public. Intervention by mental health workers after major disasters and other traumatic incidents, along with other strategies to reduce burnout among emergency workers, have been proposed to mitigate the destructive effects of stress in this field (Neale 1991).

Few specific recommendations exist for screening and preventive measures in paramedical workers. Blood-borne pathogen training and immunization to HBV should be undertaken in all employees with exposure to infectious fluids and materials. In the United States, health-care facilities are required to inform an emergency response employee who sustains an unprotected exposure to a blood-borne disease or to an airborne, uncommon or rare infectious disease, including tuberculosis (NIOSH 1989). Similar guidelines and statutes exist for other countries (Laboratory Center for Disease Control 1995). Compliance with standard immunization practices for infectious agents (e.g., measles-mumps-rubella vaccine) and tetanus is essential. Periodic screening for tuberculosis is recommended if the potential for high-risk exposure is present. Properly designed equipment, instruction in body mechanics and scene hazard education have been proposed to reduce lifting injuries, although the setting in which much ambulance work is performed may render the most well-designed controls ineffective. The environment in which paramedical work occurs should be considered carefully, and appropriate clothing and protective equipment provided when necessary. Respirator training is appropriate for personnel who may be exposed to toxic gases and smoke. Finally, the erosive effects of stress on paramedical workers and emergency technicians must be borne in mind, and strategies for counselling and intervention should be developed to lessen its impact.

 

Back

Read 4044 times Last modified on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 09:30

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Education and Training Services
Emergency and Security Services
Emergency and Security Services Resources
Entertainment and the Arts
Health Care Facilities and Services
Hotels and Restaurants
Office and Retail Trades
Personal and Community Services
Public and Government Services
Transport Industry and Warehousing
Part XVIII. Guides

Emergency and Security Services References

Bigbee, D. 1993. Pathogenic microorganisms—Law enforcement’s silent enemies. FBI Law Enforcement Bull May 1993:1–5.

Binder, S. 1989. Deaths, injuries, and evacuation from acute hazardous materials releases. Am J Public Health 79:1042–1044.

Brown, J and A Trottier. 1995. Assessing cardiac risks in police officers. J Clinical Forensic Med 2:199–204.

Cox, RD. 1994. Decontamination and management of hazardous materials exposure victims in the emergency department. Ann Emerg Med 23(4):761–770.

Davis, RL and FK Mostofi. 1993. Cluster of testicular cancer in police officers exposed to hand held radar. Am J Ind Med 24:231–233.

Franke, WD and DF Anderson. 1994. Relationship between physical activity and risk factors for cardiovascular disease among law enforcement officers. J Occup Med 36(10):1127–1132.

Hall, HI, VD Dhara, PA Price-Green, and WE Kaye. 1994. Surveillance for emergency events involving hazardous substances—United States, 1990–1992. MMWR CDC Surveil Summ 43(2):1–6.

Hogya, PT and L Ellis. 1990. Evaluation of the injury profile of personnel in a busy urban EMS system. Am J Emerg Med 8:308–311.

Laboratory Center for Disease Control. 1995. A national consensus on guidelines for establishment of a post-exposure notification protocol for emergency responders. Canada Communicable Disease Report 21–19:169–175.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). 1989. A Curriculum Guide for Public-safety and Emergency Response Workers. Prevention of Transmission of Human Immunodeficiency Virus and Hepatitus B Virus. Cincinnati: NIOSH.

Neale, AV. 1991. Work stress in emergency medical technicians. J Occup Med 33:991–997.

Pepe, PE, FB Hollinger, CL Troisi, and D Heiberg. 1986. Viral hepatitis risk in urban emergency medical services personnel. Ann Emerg Med 15:454–457.

Showalter, PS and MF Myers. 1994. Natural disasters in the United States as release agents of oil, chemicals, or radiological materials between 1980–1989. Risk Anal 14(2):169–182.

Souter, FCG, C van Netten and R Brands. 1992. Morbidity in policemen occupationally exposed to fingerprint powders. Int J Envir Health Res 2:114–119.

Sparrow, D, HE Thomas, and ST Weiss. 1983. Coronary heart disease in police officers participating in the normative aging study. Am J Epidemiol 118(No. 4):508–512.

Trottier, A, J Brown, and GA Wells. 1994. Respiratory symptoms among forensic ident workers. J Clin Forensic Med 1:129–132.

Vena, JE, JM Violanti, J Marshall and RC Fiedler. 1986. Mortality of a municipal worker cohort: III: Police officers. Am J Ind Med 10:383–397.

Violanti, JM, JE Vena and JR Marshall. 1986. Disease risk and mortality among police officers: New evidence and contributing factors. J Police Sci Admin 14(1):17–23.

Winder, C, A Tottszer, J Navratil and R Tandon. 1992. Hazardous materials incidents reporting—Result of a nationwide trial. J Haz Mat 31(2):119–134.