الاثنين، 21 مارس 2011 18: 38

مخاطر الصحة والسلامة لعمليات الإنقاذ البحري

قيم هذا المقال
(1 صوت)

تمثل المحيطات والبحيرات والأنهار والأجسام المائية الكبيرة الأخرى ظروف بيئية متطرفة تتطلب أقصى درجات الأداء البشري. السمة المحددة التي تميز مخاطر الصحة والسلامة لعمليات الإنقاذ البحري هي الانتشار الواسع للمياه نفسها.

تشترك عمليات الإنقاذ البحري في العديد من مخاطر الصحة والسلامة التي تعاني منها عمليات الإنقاذ البرية. يعد خطر انتقال الأمراض المعدية ، والتعرض للمواد السامة ، والتهديد بالعنف بين الأشخاص ، والتعرض لمختلف العوامل المادية (مثل الضوضاء والاهتزاز والإشعاع) أمثلة على المخاطر المشتركة بين المياه وإنقاذ الأراضي. ومع ذلك ، فإن البيئة البحرية تقدم العديد من المخاطر الفريدة أو المبالغ فيها مقارنة بالبيئة البرية. ستركز هذه المقالة على مخاطر الصحة والسلامة الأكثر تحديدًا في عمليات الإنقاذ في البحر.

طرق الاستجابة

قبل مناقشة مخاطر محددة على الصحة والسلامة ، من المهم أن نفهم أن عمليات الإنقاذ البحري يمكن أن تتم إما عن طريق سفينة أو طائرة أو مزيج منهما. تكمن أهمية فهم طريقة الاستجابة في أن خصائص التعرض للمخاطر يتم تحديدها جزئيًا بواسطة الأسلوب.

السفن السطحية المستخدمة عادة في عمليات الإنقاذ البحري تسافر بسرعات تقل عن 40 عقدة (74.1 كم / ساعة) ، ولها نطاق تشغيلي محدود نسبيًا (أقل من 200 ميل (320 كم)) ، وتتأثر بشدة بسطح الماء والظروف الجوية ، وتتعرض للضرر عن طريق الحطام العائم وعادة ما تكون غير حساسة لاعتبارات الوزن. يمكن للطائرات المروحية ، وهي الطائرات الأكثر استخدامًا في الإنقاذ البحري ، السفر بأكثر من 150 عقدة (278 كم / ساعة) ، وقد يكون لها نطاق تشغيلي فعال يبلغ 300 ميل (480 كم) (أكثر مع التزود بالوقود أثناء الطيران) ، أكثر تأثرًا عن طريق الطقس أكثر من الظروف المائية وهي حساسة جدًا لمخاوف الوزن.

تشمل العوامل التي تحدد طريقة الاستجابة المسافة والإلحاح والموقع الجغرافي وتوافر الموارد والظروف البيئية وطبيعة منظمة الإنقاذ المستجيبة. العوامل التي تميل إلى تفضيل استجابة السفن السطحية هي القرب الأقرب ، والإلحاح الأقل ، والقرب من المناطق الحضرية أو المتقدمة ، وظروف سطح المياه الأكثر اعتدالًا ونظام الطيران والبنية التحتية الأقل تطورًا. تميل عمليات الإنقاذ عن طريق الجو إلى أن تكون مسافات أطول ، والإلحاح العالي ، والبعد عن المناطق الحضرية أو المتقدمة ، وظروف سطح المياه الأكثر قسوة ، والمناطق ذات أنظمة الطيران والبنية التحتية المتطورة. الشكل 1 والشكل 2  إظهار كلا النوعين من الإنقاذ.

الشكل 1. الإنقاذ البحري بالسفن.

EMR040F1

الجيش الأمريكي

الشكل 2. الإنقاذ البحري بواسطة مروحية.

EMR040F2

الجيش الأمريكي

المخاطر البحرية

المخاطر السائدة لعمليات الإنقاذ البحري هي تلك الملازمة للبيئة المائية. يتعرض أفراد الإنقاذ بشكل مباشر للعناصر البحرية ويجب أن يكونوا مستعدين للبقاء على قيد الحياة.

الغرق هو السبب الأكثر شيوعًا للوفاة المرتبطة بالاحتلال في البيئة البحرية. يحتاج الناس إلى معدات تعويم متخصصة للبقاء على قيد الحياة في الماء لأي فترة زمنية. حتى أفضل السباحين يحتاجون إلى مساعدة في الطفو للبقاء على قيد الحياة في الطقس القاسي. عادة ما يكون البقاء لفترات طويلة (أكثر من عدة ساعات) في الطقس العاصف مستحيلًا بدون بدلات النجاة المتخصصة أو الأطواف. ستؤدي الإصابات وانخفاض مستوى الوعي والارتباك والذعر أو الخوف غير المنضبط إلى تقليل احتمالية بقاء الماء على قيد الحياة.

الماء أكثر كفاءة من الهواء في نقل حرارة الجسم بعيدًا. يزداد خطر الوفاة بسبب انخفاض حرارة الجسم أو الغرق الناجم عن انخفاض حرارة الجسم بسرعة مع انخفاض درجة حرارة الماء إلى أقل من 24 درجة مئوية. مع اقتراب درجات حرارة الماء من التجمد ، يتم قياس وقت البقاء الفعال بالدقائق. البقاء على قيد الحياة لفترات طويلة في الماء البارد ، حتى عندما يكون السطح هادئًا ، لا يمكن تحقيقه إلا بمساعدة بدلات البقاء على قيد الحياة أو الطوافات المتخصصة.

تعرض البيئة البحرية أقصى الظروف الجوية. يمكن أن تكون الرياح والأمطار والضباب والثلج والجليد شديدة. يمكن تقييد الرؤية والقدرة على التواصل بشكل خطير. يتعرض عمال الإنقاذ باستمرار لخطر البلل من خلال حركة الأمواج والرش ، والأمطار أو الرذاذ الناتج عن الرياح ، والرذاذ الناتج عن السفن أو الطائرات. يمكن أن تتسبب المياه ، وخاصة المياه المالحة ، في إتلاف المعدات الميكانيكية والكهربائية الضرورية لعمليات السفن أو الرحلات الجوية.

يمكن أن يؤدي التعرض للمياه المالحة إلى تهيج الجلد والأغشية المخاطية والعين. ابتلاع الكائنات الحية الدقيقة المعدية التي تنقلها المياه (على سبيل المثال ، الضمة النيابة.) يزيد من احتمالية الإصابة بأمراض الجهاز الهضمي. يمكن أن تتلوث المياه حول مواقع الإنقاذ بالملوثات (مثل مياه الصرف الصحي) أو المواد الخطرة على صحة الإنسان (مثل المنتجات البترولية). يمكن أن يحدث التسمم المحتمل بواسطة ثعابين الماء وبواسطة تجاويف الأمعاء المختلفة (مثل قنديل البحر) في المناطق التي تدعم هذه الكائنات. غالبًا ما تكون الملابس الواقية المائية والحرارية مرهقة ومقيدة وعرضة للتسبب في الإجهاد الحراري. خلال الظروف المشمسة ، يمكن أن يعاني رجال الإنقاذ من تلف الجلد والعين بسبب انعكاس الضوء فوق البنفسجي.

عادةً ما يكون لسطح المسطحات المائية الكبيرة ، مثل المحيطات ، حركة موجية متموجة مع تقطيع سطحي متزامن. لذلك ، يقوم أفراد الإنقاذ بالعمل على منصة متحركة ، مما يعقد أي حركة أو إجراءات. دوار الحركة هو تهديد دائم. يمكن للسفن السطحية التي تسافر في ظروف قاسية أن تعاني من قصف شديد وعدم استقرار مما يزيد من التعب ، وزيادة احتمالية السقوط أو الاصطدام بالأجسام المتساقطة وتعطل المعدات. تتعرض الطائرات التي تعمل في طقس عاصف لاضطرابات يمكن أن تسبب دوار الحركة ، وتسريع التعب ، ومضاعفة مخاطر الإخلاء سطح-جو.

التخطيط والوقاية

يمكن أن تكون البيئة البحرية معادية للغاية. ومع ذلك ، يمكن التحكم في مخاطر الصحة والسلامة المرتبطة بعمليات الإنقاذ البحري أو التقليل منها من خلال التخطيط الدقيق وجهود الوقاية. يمكن أن تتم عمليات الإنقاذ الآمنة والفعالة.

يجب أن تكون منظمات الإنقاذ على دراية تامة بطبيعة البيئة البحرية ، وفهم الخصائص التشغيلية وقيود معدات الاستجابة والموظفين ، وسلامة نظام التدريب ، وتوفير المعدات المناسبة ، والتدريب والقيادة. يجب أن يكون أفراد الإنقاذ في حالة بدنية وعقلية جيدة ، وأن يكونوا على دراية بمعداتهم وإجراءاتهم ، وأن يظلوا في حالة تأهب ، وأن يكونوا مستعدين ، وأن يظلوا ماهرين ويفهمون تفاصيل الموقف الذي يتعاملون معه.

يمكن أن يشارك أفراد الإنقاذ في حوادث السفن أو الطيران. يمكن أن يكون الاختلاف بين كونك منقذًا والحاجة إلى الإنقاذ مجرد لحظات. يعتمد البقاء على قيد الحياة في نهاية المطاف على:

  • البقاء على قيد الحياة من التأثير نفسه
  • خروج ناجح
  • تحمل بعد الحادث المؤسف حتى يتم إنقاذها.

 

كل مرحلة من مراحل النجاة من الحوادث لها مجموعتها الخاصة من التدريب والمعدات وبيئة العمل والإجراءات اللازمة لتحقيق أقصى قدر من البقاء على قيد الحياة. عادة ما يعمل أفراد الإنقاذ البحري في عزلة ، دون دعم فوري ، وغالبًا على مسافات طويلة من الشاطئ. القاعدة الأساسية هي أن يكون لدى رجال الإنقاذ الموارد اللازمة للبقاء على قيد الحياة الوقت الذي يستغرقونه لإنقاذ أنفسهم في حالة وقوع حادث مؤسف. يحتاج رجال الإنقاذ إلى التدريب والتجهيز والاستعداد للبقاء على قيد الحياة في أسوأ الظروف.

 

الرجوع

عرض 6465 مرات آخر تعديل يوم السبت 30 يوليو 2022 22:10

"إخلاء المسؤولية: لا تتحمل منظمة العمل الدولية المسؤولية عن المحتوى المعروض على بوابة الويب هذه والذي يتم تقديمه بأي لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية ، وهي اللغة المستخدمة للإنتاج الأولي ومراجعة الأقران للمحتوى الأصلي. لم يتم تحديث بعض الإحصائيات منذ ذلك الحين. إنتاج الطبعة الرابعة من الموسوعة (4). "

المحتويات

مراجع خدمات الطوارئ والأمن

Bigbee، D. 1993. الكائنات الحية الدقيقة المسببة للأمراض - أعداء إنفاذ القانون الصامتون. مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي إنفاذ القانون الثور مايو 1993: 1-5.

بيندر ، س. 1989. الوفيات والإصابات والإخلاء من إطلاقات المواد الخطرة الحادة. صباحا J الصحة العامة 79: 1042-1044.

براون ، جي وآيه تروتييه. 1995. تقييم مخاطر القلب لدى ضباط الشرطة. J Clinical Forensic Med. ي 2: 199-204.

كوكس ، أردي. 1994. تطهير وإدارة ضحايا التعرض للمواد الخطرة في قسم الطوارئ. آن إميرج ميد 23 (4): 761-770.

ديفيس ، RL و FK Mostofi. 1993. مجموعة سرطان الخصية لدى ضباط الشرطة المعرضين للرادار اليدوي. أنا J إند ميد 24: 231-233.

فرانك ، ود. و. د. أندرسون. 1994. العلاقة بين النشاط البدني وعوامل الخطر لأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية بين ضباط إنفاذ القانون. J احتلال ميد 36 (10): 1127-1132.

Hall و HI و VD Dhara و PA Price-Green و WE Kaye. 1994. مراقبة أحداث الطوارئ التي تنطوي على مواد خطرة - الولايات المتحدة ، 1990-1992. مجموع مراقبة MMWR CDC 43 (2): 1-6.

Hogya و PT و L Ellis. 1990. تقييم ملف إصابة الأفراد في نظام EMS حضري مزدحم. Am J Emerg Med 8: 308-311.

مركز المختبر لمكافحة الأمراض. 1995. توافق وطني في الآراء بشأن المبادئ التوجيهية لوضع بروتوكول للإخطار بعد التعرض للمستجيبين في حالات الطوارئ. تقرير كندا للأمراض المعدية 21-19: 169-175.

المعهد الوطني للسلامة والصحة المهنية (NIOSH). 1989. دليل المناهج للعاملين في مجال السلامة العامة والاستجابة للطوارئ. الوقاية من انتقال فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية وفيروس الكبد ب. سينسيناتي: NIOSH.

نيل ، AV. 1991. ضغوط العمل في فنيي الطوارئ الطبية. J احتلال ميد 33: 991-997.

بيبي ، بي ، إف بي هولينجر ، سي إل ترويسي ، ودي هيبرغ. 1986. مخاطر التهاب الكبد الفيروسي لدى موظفي الخدمات الطبية في حالات الطوارئ في المناطق الحضرية. آن إميرج ميد 15: 454-457.

شوالتر ، PS و MF مايرز. 1994. الكوارث الطبيعية في الولايات المتحدة كعوامل إطلاق للنفط أو المواد الكيميائية أو المواد الإشعاعية بين 1980-1989. تحليل المخاطر 14 (2): 169-182.

Souter و FCG و C van Netten و R Brands. 1992. الاعتلال لدى رجال الشرطة مهنيا الذين يتعرضون لمساحيق بصمات الأصابع. الدقة الصحية Int J Envir 2: 114-119.

سبارو ، دي ، معالي توماس ، وسانت فايس. 1983. مرض القلب التاجي لدى ضباط الشرطة المشاركين في دراسة الشيخوخة المعيارية. آم J إبيديميول 118 (رقم 4): 508-512.

Trottier و A و J Brown و GA Wells. 1994. أعراض تنفسية بين العاملين في الطب الشرعي. ياء نوتر الطب الشرعي ميد 1: 129-132.

Vena و JE و JM Violanti و J Marshall و RC Fiedler. 1986. وفيات مجموعة العاملين في البلدية: ثالثًا: ضباط الشرطة. أنا J إند ميد 10: 383-397.

فيولانتي وجي إم وجي إي فينا وجيه آر مارشال. 1986. مخاطر الأمراض والوفيات بين ضباط الشرطة: أدلة جديدة وعوامل مساهمة. J مدير العلوم الشرطة 14 (1): 17-23.

ويندر ، سي ، أ توتزر ، جي نافراتيل ، آر تاندون. 1992. الإبلاغ عن حوادث المواد الخطرة - نتيجة محاكمة وطنية. J هاز مات 31 (2): 119-134.

Monday, 21 March 2011 18:38

Health and Safety Hazards of Maritime Rescues

Written by
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Oceans, lakes, rivers and other large bodies of water present extremes of environmental conditions demanding the maximum in human performance. The defining attribute that characterizes health and safety hazards of maritime rescues is the pervasive presence of the water itself.

Maritime rescues share many of the health and safety hazards experienced in land-based rescues. The risk of communicable disease transmission, exposure to toxic substances, threat of interpersonal violence and exposure to various physical agents (e.g., noise, vibration, radiation) are examples of commonly shared hazards of water and land rescues. The maritime environment, however, presents several unique or exaggerated hazards compared to the land-based environment. This article will focus on those health and safety hazards most identified with at-sea rescues.

Modes of Response

Before discussing specific health and safety hazards it is important to understand that maritime rescues can take place by either surface vessel or aircraft, or a combination of both. The importance of understanding the mode of response is that characteristics of hazard exposure are determined, in part, by the mode.

Surface vessels typically used in maritime rescues travel at speeds under 40 knots (74.1 km/h), have a relatively limited operational range (under 200 miles (320 km)), are heavily influenced by water surface and weather conditions, are subject to damage by floating debris and generally are not sensitive to weight consideration. Helicopters, the most commonly used aircraft in maritime rescue, can travel in excess of 150 knots (278 km/h), may have an effective operational range of 300 miles (480 km) (more with in-flight refuelling), are more influenced by weather than water conditions and are very sensitive to weight concerns.

Factors that determine the mode of response include distance, urgency, geographic location, resource availability, environmental conditions and character of the responding rescue organization. Factors that tend to favour surface vessel response are closer proximity, lower urgency, proximity to metropolitan or developed regions, milder water surface conditions and a less well developed aviation system and infrastructure. Rescue by air tends to be favoured by longer distances, higher urgency, remoteness from metropolitan or developed regions, harsher water surface conditions, and regions with better-developed aviation systems and infrastructure. Figure 1 and figure 2  show both types of rescue.

Figure 1. Maritime rescue by ship.

EMR040F1

US Army

Figure 2. Maritime rescue by helicopter.

EMR040F2

US Army

Maritime Hazards

The dominant hazards of maritime rescues are those intrinsic to the watery environment. Rescue personnel are directly exposed to maritime elements and must be prepared for survival themselves.

Drowning is the most common cause of occupation-related death in the maritime environment. People require specialized flotation equipment to survive in water for any length of time. Even the best swimmers require flotation assistance to survive in rough weather. Prolonged (more that several hours) survival in stormy weather is usually impossible without specialized survival suits or rafts. Injuries, reduced level of consciousness, confusion and panic or uncontrolled fear will reduce the likelihood of water survival.

Water is more efficient than air at conducting away body heat. The risk of death due to hypothermia or hypothermia-induced drowning increases rapidly as water temperature decreases below 24 °C. As water temperatures approach freezing, effective survival time is measured in minutes. Prolonged survival in cold water, even when the surface is calm, is possible only with the assistance of specialized survival suits or rafts.

The maritime environment exhibits the extremes of weather conditions. Wind, rain, fog, snow and icing can be severe. Visibility and the ability to communicate can be seriously restricted. Rescuers are constantly at risk for getting wet through wave and splash action, wind-driven rain or spray, and vessel- or aircraft-generated spray. Water, especially salt water, can damage mechanical and electrical equipment essential for vessel or flight operations.

Exposure to salt water can result in skin, mucosal and eye irritation. Ingestion of water-borne infectious micro-organisms (e.g., Vibrio spp.) increases the likelihood of gastro-intestinal disease. The water around rescue sites can be contaminated with pollutants (e.g., sewage) or substances hazardous to human health (e.g., petroleum products). Potential envenomation by water snakes and by various coelenterates (e.g., jellyfish) can occur in areas supporting these organisms. Water and thermal protective clothing is often cumbersome, restrictive and prone to promote heat stress. During sunny conditions, rescuers can experience skin and eye damage due to reflected ultraviolet light.

The surface of large bodies of water, such as the oceans, typically has undulant wave motion with coexistent surface chop. Rescue personnel, therefore, conduct work on a moving platform, which complicates any movement or procedures. Motion sickness is a constant threat. Surface vessels travelling through rough conditions can experience severe pounding and instability which promotes fatigue, an increased likelihood of falls or being struck by falling objects and equipment failure. Aircraft operating in stormy weather experience turbulence that can induce motion sickness, accelerate fatigue and compound the risks of surface-to-air evacuation.

Planning and Prevention

The maritime environment can be extremely hostile. However, the health and safety hazards associated with maritime rescues can be controlled or minimized through careful planning and prevention efforts. Safe and effective rescues can take place.

Rescue organizations must be acutely aware of the nature of the maritime environment, understand the operational characteristics and limitations of response equipment and personnel, practice system safety and provide suitable equipment, training and leadership. Rescue personnel must be in good physical and mental condition, know their equipment and procedures, stay alert, be prepared, remain proficient and understand the specifics of the situation they are dealing with.

Rescue personnel can be involved in vessel or aviation mishaps. The difference between being a rescuer and needing to be rescued can be only a matter of moments. Ultimate mishap survival is dependent on:

  • survival of the impact itself
  • successful egress
  • enduring post-mishap until rescued.

 

Each stage of mishap survival has its own set of necessary training, equipment, ergonomics and procedures to maximize survival. Maritime rescue personnel usually act in isolation, without immediate backup, and often at long distances from shore. A rule of thumb is for rescuers to have the necessary resources to survive the time it takes to be rescued themselves in the event of their own mishap. Rescuers need to be trained, equipped and prepared to survive in the worst of conditions.

 

Back

Read 4250 times Last modified on Friday, 09 December 2011 20:44

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Education and Training Services
Emergency and Security Services
Emergency and Security Services Resources
Entertainment and the Arts
Health Care Facilities and Services
Hotels and Restaurants
Office and Retail Trades
Personal and Community Services
Public and Government Services
Transport Industry and Warehousing
Part XVIII. Guides

Emergency and Security Services References

Bigbee, D. 1993. Pathogenic microorganisms—Law enforcement’s silent enemies. FBI Law Enforcement Bull May 1993:1–5.

Binder, S. 1989. Deaths, injuries, and evacuation from acute hazardous materials releases. Am J Public Health 79:1042–1044.

Brown, J and A Trottier. 1995. Assessing cardiac risks in police officers. J Clinical Forensic Med 2:199–204.

Cox, RD. 1994. Decontamination and management of hazardous materials exposure victims in the emergency department. Ann Emerg Med 23(4):761–770.

Davis, RL and FK Mostofi. 1993. Cluster of testicular cancer in police officers exposed to hand held radar. Am J Ind Med 24:231–233.

Franke, WD and DF Anderson. 1994. Relationship between physical activity and risk factors for cardiovascular disease among law enforcement officers. J Occup Med 36(10):1127–1132.

Hall, HI, VD Dhara, PA Price-Green, and WE Kaye. 1994. Surveillance for emergency events involving hazardous substances—United States, 1990–1992. MMWR CDC Surveil Summ 43(2):1–6.

Hogya, PT and L Ellis. 1990. Evaluation of the injury profile of personnel in a busy urban EMS system. Am J Emerg Med 8:308–311.

Laboratory Center for Disease Control. 1995. A national consensus on guidelines for establishment of a post-exposure notification protocol for emergency responders. Canada Communicable Disease Report 21–19:169–175.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). 1989. A Curriculum Guide for Public-safety and Emergency Response Workers. Prevention of Transmission of Human Immunodeficiency Virus and Hepatitus B Virus. Cincinnati: NIOSH.

Neale, AV. 1991. Work stress in emergency medical technicians. J Occup Med 33:991–997.

Pepe, PE, FB Hollinger, CL Troisi, and D Heiberg. 1986. Viral hepatitis risk in urban emergency medical services personnel. Ann Emerg Med 15:454–457.

Showalter, PS and MF Myers. 1994. Natural disasters in the United States as release agents of oil, chemicals, or radiological materials between 1980–1989. Risk Anal 14(2):169–182.

Souter, FCG, C van Netten and R Brands. 1992. Morbidity in policemen occupationally exposed to fingerprint powders. Int J Envir Health Res 2:114–119.

Sparrow, D, HE Thomas, and ST Weiss. 1983. Coronary heart disease in police officers participating in the normative aging study. Am J Epidemiol 118(No. 4):508–512.

Trottier, A, J Brown, and GA Wells. 1994. Respiratory symptoms among forensic ident workers. J Clin Forensic Med 1:129–132.

Vena, JE, JM Violanti, J Marshall and RC Fiedler. 1986. Mortality of a municipal worker cohort: III: Police officers. Am J Ind Med 10:383–397.

Violanti, JM, JE Vena and JR Marshall. 1986. Disease risk and mortality among police officers: New evidence and contributing factors. J Police Sci Admin 14(1):17–23.

Winder, C, A Tottszer, J Navratil and R Tandon. 1992. Hazardous materials incidents reporting—Result of a nationwide trial. J Haz Mat 31(2):119–134.