週二,二月15 2011:18 04

關於健康和安全問題的個人糾紛

評價這個項目
(0票)

爭議類型

個人糾紛是由於個體工人與其雇主在僱傭關係的某個方面發生分歧而產生的。 個人糾紛是“權利糾紛”的例證,即關於適用法律或現有協議條款的糾紛,無論是集體談判協議還是個人書面或口頭僱傭合同。 因此,在支付的工資數額或支付方式、工作時間表、工作條件、休假權利等方面可能存在爭議。 在健康和安全領域,可能會出現個人糾紛,涉及個人防護設備的使用、為執行危險工作支付額外費用(危險津貼——一種現在不贊成消除危險的做法)、拒絕執行以下工作:構成迫在眉睫的危險和遵守健康和安全規則。

個人糾紛可能由工人投訴以維護他或她認為的權利,或對雇主施加的紀律處分或解僱作出反應而發起。 如果糾紛涉及代表個體工人的類似訴求,或者如果個體糾紛引起了工會的重要原則,個體糾紛也可能導致集體行動,並且在尋求新權利的情況下導致利益糾紛. 例如,拒絕從事他或她認為過於危險的工作的單身工人可能會受到雇主的紀律處分甚至解僱; 如果工會發現這項工作對其他工人構成持續的危險,它可能會採取集體行動來解決這個問題,包括停工(即合法罷工或自發罷工)。 這樣一來,個人糾紛就可能引發集體糾紛。 同樣,工會也可能看到一個原則性問題,如果不承認,將導致其提出新的要求,從而在未來的談判中引發利益糾紛。

個人糾紛的解決在很大程度上取決於三個因素:(1) 特定國家/地區為工人提供的法律保護程度; (2) 工人是否屬於集體協議的範圍; (3) 工人可以輕鬆行使他或她的權利,無論這些權利是由法律還是集體協議提供的。

受害和解僱糾紛

然而,在大多數國家,個人享有的某些權利將是相同的,無論他或她的工作時間長短或企業規模如何。 這些通常包括防止因工會活動或向當局報告雇主涉嫌違法而受害,稱為“舉報人”保護。 在大多數國家,法律保護所有工人免受基於種族或性別(包括懷孕)的歧視,在許多情況下,還包括宗教、政治觀點、民族血統或社會出身、婚姻狀況和家庭責任。 這些理由都被國際勞工組織 1982 年《終止僱傭公約》(第 158 號)列為不當解僱理由,該公約還增加了:工會會員資格和參加工會活動; 尋求擔任或曾經擔任工人代表職位; 提出投訴,或參與針對涉嫌違反法律或法規的雇主的訴訟,或訴諸行政當局。 後三項顯然與保護工人在安全和健康領域的權利特別相關。 國際勞工組織公約和建議書實施專家委員會最近強調了報復措施的嚴重性,特別是以終止僱傭的形式,針對報告雇主未能適用職業安全和健康規則的工人,而工人人身安全、健康甚至生命都可能受到威脅。 當工人​​的基本權利或人身安全受到威脅時,最好提供證明(舉證責任倒置)和補救措施(恢復)的條件,以允許工人舉報非法行為不懼怕報復的做法(國際勞工組織 1995c)。

然而,在實踐中保留就業時,個人就業權利的兩個主要決定因素是可用於維護這些權利的執行機制以及他或她所從事的就業合同類型。 訂婚期限越長,通常保護越強。 因此,仍處於試用期(在大多數國家只有幾個月)的工人幾乎沒有或沒有免於被解僱的保護。 這同樣適用於臨時工(即從事日常工作的人)或季節性工人(即受僱時間有限、週期性的人)。 簽訂固定期限僱傭合同的工人在合同期限內享有保護,但通常無權續簽合同。 簽訂無時間限制合同的工人處於最安全的位置,但他們仍可能因特定原因或更普遍的原因而被解僱,這些原因通常被稱為“嚴重不當行為”。 他們的工作也可能在公司重組過程中被淘汰。 隨著勞動力市場要求更大靈活性的壓力越來越大,最近管理僱傭合同的立法趨勢是讓雇主更容易在重組過程中“裁員”。 此外,在傳統的雇主/僱員關係之外出現了許多新形式的工作關係。 沒有僱員身份,有關個人可能得不到法律保護。

工人拒絕從事危險工作糾紛

圍繞員工拒絕執行他或她認為會造成迫在眉睫的危險的工作的問題,可能經常會出現個人糾紛; 該信念必須是一個合理的人的信念和/或出於善意。 在美國,合理的信念必須是工作的執行構成了迫在眉睫的死亡或嚴重身體傷害的危險。 在一些國家,這項權利是通過集體談判達成的; 在其他情況下,它根據立法或法院解釋而存在。 不幸的是,這一重要權利尚未得到普遍承認,儘管它已作為一項基本原則列入 13 年國際勞工組織職業健康與安全公約(第 1981 號)第 155 條。 即使在法律規定了該權利的情況下,員工也可能擔心會因行使該權利而遭到報復或失去工作,尤其是在他們沒有得到工會或有效的勞動監察機構支持的情況下。

拒絕此類工作的權利通常伴隨著立即將情況通知雇主的義務; 有時還必須通知聯合安全委員會。 在問題得到解決之前,拒絕的工人或代替他或她的其他工人都不應(重新)分配到該工作。 如果仍然發生這種情況並且工人受傷,法律可能(如在法國和委內瑞拉)使雇主受到嚴厲的民事和刑事處罰。 在加拿大,拒絕工作的工人和健康與安全代表都有權在雇主進行現場調查時在場。 用人單位採取補救措施後,勞動者仍拒不上班的,可以啟動政府加急檢查; 在做出決定之前,雇主不能要求工人從事該工作,並且應該為他或她提供替代工作以避免收入損失。 指定接替拒絕者的工人必須被告知對方拒絕了。

承認拒絕危險工作的權利是一般規則的一個重要例外,即雇主是分配工作的人,僱員不得放棄他或她的工作或拒絕執行指示。 其概念上的合理性在於形勢的緊迫性和拯救生命的公共秩序利益的存在(Bousiges 1991;Renaud 和 St. Jacques 1986)。

參加罷工

與健康和安全問題相關的個人糾紛可能出現的另一種方式是個人參與罷工行動以抗議不安全的工作條件。 他或她的命運將取決於停工是合法的還是非法的,以及在特定情況下罷工權得到保障的程度。 這將不僅涉及其作為集體權利的地位,還涉及法律制度如何看待僱員撤離勞動。 在許多國家,罷工構成了僱員違反僱傭合同的行為,這是否會被原諒很可能取決於他或她的工會相對於雇主的整體權力和可能是政府。 理論上擁有強大罷工權但可以暫時或永久替換的工人將因害怕失去工作而不願行使該權利。 在其他國家,參與合法罷工被明確規定為不能終止工人就業的理由之一(芬蘭、法國)。

爭議解決方式

解決個人糾紛的方式與解決集體糾紛的方式大體相同。 然而,不同的勞資關係系統提供不同的方法。 一些國家(例如,德國、以色列、萊索托和納米比亞)提供勞動法庭來解決集體和個人糾紛。 丹麥和挪威的勞動法庭只審理集體糾紛; 個別工人的索賠必須通過正規的民事法庭。 在其他國家,例如法國和英國,專門的機器是為解決個體工人與其雇主之間的糾紛而保留的。 在美國,個人有權向不同於提出不公平勞工行為指控的機構提起非法就業歧視訴訟。 然而,在非工會的情況下,儘管受到勞工從業者的批評,雇主強制仲裁解決個人糾紛卻很受歡迎。 如果個人受到集體談判協議的約束,他或她的申訴可由工會根據該協議提出,通常將爭議提交自願仲裁。 個人贏得索賠的能力通常取決於他或她能否獲得公平、負擔得起和快速的程序,以及他或她是否得到工會或有能力的勞動監察員的支持。

 

上一頁

更多內容 7297 最後修改於 23 年 2022 月 21 日星期六 28:XNUMX

" 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

內容

Tuesday, 15 February 2011 18:04

Individual Disputes over Health and Safety Issues

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Types of Disputes

An individual dispute arises from a disagreement between an individual worker and his or her employer over an aspect of their employment relationship. An individual dispute exemplifies a “rights dispute”, that is a dispute over the application of the terms of legislation or an existing agreement, whether a collective bargaining agreement or an individual written or oral contract of employment. Thus there could be a dispute over the amount of wages paid or their manner of payment, work schedules, working conditions, entitlement to leave and so forth. In the field of health and safety an individual dispute may arise in relation to the use of personal protective equipment, extra payments for carrying out dangerous work (hazard pay – a practice now frowned upon in favour of eliminating hazards), refusal to perform work that poses an imminent danger and observance of health and safety rules.

An individual dispute may be initiated by a worker complaining to vindicate what he or she believes to be a right, or reacting to employer-imposed disciplinary action or dismissal. If a dispute involves similar claims on behalf of individual workers, or if an individual dispute raises a point of important principle for a trade union, an individual dispute can also lead to collective action and, where new rights are then sought, to an interests dispute. For instance, a single worker who refuses to perform work that he or she thinks is too hazardous may be disciplined or even dismissed by the employer; if the trade union sees that this work poses a continuing danger for other workers, it may take up the issue with collective action, including a work stoppage (i.e., a lawful strike or a wildcat strike). In this way, an individual dispute may lead to and become a collective dispute. Similarly, the union may see a point of principle which, if not recognized, will lead it to make new demands, thus giving rise to an interests dispute in future negotiations.

The resolution of an individual dispute will depend largely upon three factors: (1) the extent of legal protection afforded to workers in a particular country; (2) whether or not a worker falls under the umbrella of a collective agreement; and (3) the ease with which a worker can have enforcement of his or her rights, whether they are afforded by law or collective agreement.

Disputes over Victimization and Dismissal

In most countries, however, certain rights enjoyed by an individual will be the same no matter what the length of his or her engagement or the size of the enterprise. These normally include protection against victimization for trade union activity or for reporting to the authorities an employer’s alleged infringement of the law, called “whistle-blower” protection. In most countries, the law affords protection to all workers against discrimination on the basis of race or sex (including pregnancy) and, in many cases, religion, political opinion, national extraction or social origin, marital status and family responsibilities. Those grounds are all listed as improper bases for dismissal by the ILO Termination of Employment Convention, 1982 (No. 158), which also adds to them: union membership and participation in union activities; seeking office as, or acting or having acted as, a workers’ representative; and filing a complaint, or participating in proceedings against an employer involving alleged violation of laws or regulations, or having recourse to administrative authorities. These last three are clearly of particular relevance to the protection of workers’ rights in the field of safety and health. The ILO Committee of Experts on the Application of Conventions and Recommendations recently highlighted the seriousness of retaliatory measures, in particular in the form of termination of employment, taken against a worker who reports the employer’s failure to apply occupational safety and health rules while the workers’ physical integrity, health and even lives may be at risk. When fundamental rights or the physical integrity of lives of workers are at stake, it would be desirable for conditions as to proof (reversal of the burden of proof) and measures of redress (reinstatement) to be such as to allow the worker to report illegal practices without fearing reprisals (ILO 1995c).

However, when it comes to retention of employment in practice, two major determinants of an individual’s employment rights are the enforcement mechanism available to vindicate these rights and the type of contract of employment under which he or she has been engaged. The longer the term of the engagement, generally the stronger the protection. Thus a worker still in the probationary period (in most countries a matter of a few months) will have little or no protection from dismissal. The same is true for a casual worker (i.e., a person engaged on a day-to-day basis) or a seasonal worker (i.e., one employed for a limited, recurring period). A worker with a contract of employment for a fixed term will have protection during the period covered by the contract, but will normally not have a right to its renewal. Workers engaged on contracts that are without limit of time are in the most secure position, but they may still be dismissed for specified reasons or more generally for what is often termed “gross misconduct”. Their jobs may also be eliminated in the course of company restructuring. With increasing pressures for greater flexibility in the labour market, the recent trend in legislation governing contracts of employment has been to make it easier for employers to “shed labour” in the restructuring process. In addition, a number of new forms of work relationships have arisen outside the traditional one of employer/employee. Without employee status, the individual concerned may have little legal protection.

Disputes over a Worker’s Refusal to Perform Hazardous Work

An individual dispute may often arise around the question of an employee’s refusal to perform work that he or she believes to pose an imminent hazard; the belief must be that of a reasonable person and/or be held in good faith. In the United States the reasonable belief must be that performance of the work constitutes an imminent danger of death or serious physical injury. In some countries, this right is negotiated in collective bargaining; in others, it exists by virtue of legislation or court interpretations. Unfortunately, this important right is not yet universally recognized, despite its inclusion as a basic principle in Article 13 of the ILO Occupational Health and Safety Convention, 1981 (No. 155). And even where the right exists in law, employees may fear retaliation or job loss for exercising it, particularly where they do not enjoy the backing of a trade union or an effective labour inspectorate.

The right to refuse such work is normally accompanied by a duty to inform the employer immediately of the situation; sometimes the joint safety committee must be informed as well. Neither the worker who refused nor another in his or her place should be (re)assigned to the work until the problem has been resolved. If this happens nonetheless and a worker is injured, the law may (as in France and Venezuela) subject the employer to severe civil and criminal penalties. In Canada, both the worker who refused the work and the health and safety representative have rights to be present while the employer undertakes an on-the-spot investigation. If the employee still refuses to do the work after the employer has taken remedial measures, an expedited government inspection can be triggered; until that has led to a decision, the employer cannot require the worker to do that work and is supposed to provide him or her with an alternative assignment to avoid earnings loss. A worker designated to replace the one who refused must be advised of the other’s refusal.

Recognition of a right to refuse hazardous work is an important exception to the general rule that the employer is the one who assigns work and that an employee is not to abandon his or her post or refuse to carry out instructions. Its conceptual justification lies in the urgency of the situation and the presence of interests of public order to save life (Bousiges 1991; Renaud and St. Jacques 1986).

Participation in a Strike

Another way in which an individual dispute can arise in connection with a health and safety issue is the participation of an individual in strike action to protest unsafe working conditions. His or her fate will depend on whether the work stoppage was lawful or unlawful and the extent to which the right to strike is guaranteed in the particular circumstances. This will involve not only its status as a collective right, but how the legal system views the employee’s withdrawal of labour. In many countries, going on strike constitutes a breach of the employment contract on the part of the employee and whether this will be forgiven or not may well be influenced by the overall power of his or her trade union vis-à-vis the employer and possibly the government. A worker who has a strong theoretical right to strike but who can be temporarily or permanently replaced will be reluctant to exercise that right for fear of job loss. In other countries, engaging in a lawful strike is explicitly made one of the grounds on which a worker’s employment may not be brought to an end (Finland, France).

Means of Dispute Resolution

The ways in which an individual dispute can be resolved are in general the same as those available for the resolution of collective disputes. However, different labour relations systems offer varying approaches. Some countries (e.g., Germany, Israel, Lesotho and Namibia) provide labour courts for the resolution of both collective and individual disputes. The labour courts in Denmark and Norway hear only collective disputes; individual workers’ claims must go through the regular civil courts. In other countries, such as France and the United Kingdom, special machinery is reserved for disputes between individual workers and their employers. In the United States, individuals have rights to bring actions claiming unlawfùl employment discrimination before bodies that are distinct from those before which unfair labour practice claims are pressed. However, in non-union situations, employer mandated arbitration for individual disputes is enjoying popularity despite criticism from labour practitioners. Where an individual is covered by a collective bargaining agreement, his or her grievance can be pursued by the trade union under that agreement, which usually refers disputes to voluntary arbitration. An individual’s ability to win a claim may ofien depend on his or her access to procedures that are fair, affordable and rapid and whether he or she has the support of a trade union or an able labour inspectorate.

 

Back

Read 5526 times Last modified on Monday, 27 June 2011 09:00

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Disability and Work
Ethical Issues
Education and Training
Development, Technology, and Trade
Labour Relations and Human Resource Management
Resources: Information and OSH
Resources, Institutional, Structural and Legal
Topics In Workers Compensation Systems
Work and Workers
Worker's Compensation Systems
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides