星期二,29 March 2011 20:05

健康影響和疾病模式

評價這個項目
(1投票)

皮革鞣製

皮革和毛皮加工的主要國際標準工業分類 (ISIC) 組是 323。在美國,皮革和皮革製造產品行業的標準工業分類 (SIC) 組是 SIC 311 (OMB 1987)。 本大組包括從事鞣製、加工和精加工生皮和毛皮的企業,以及製造成品革和人造革產品以及一些由其他材料製成的類似產品的企業。 SIC 311 還包括皮革加工、腰帶和麂皮。此外,SIC 23 的部分(即 SIC 2371 和 2386)包括涉及製造毛皮製成的外套、服裝、配飾和飾物的企業,以及涉及製造毛皮製品的企業羊襯衣。

根據動物種類和獲取生皮的動物身體的具體部位,皮革有多種不同的特性。 生皮由牛皮或馬皮製成; 以小牛、豬、山羊、綿羊等皮為原料的花式皮革; 以及鱷魚、蜥蜴、變色龍等爬行動物的皮革。

皮革和皮革製造產品行業的就業與生物、毒物和致癌物質引起的各種疾病有關。 與皮革行業暴露相關的具體疾病取決於工人暴露於藥劑的程度,這取決於行業內的職業和工作區域。

對於鞣製過程,首先去除生皮的表皮,只有真皮轉化為皮革。 在這個過程中,感染是一個持續的危險,因為皮革是許多微生物的媒介。 真菌菌落可能會發展,特別是 黑曲霉灰青黴 (馬蒂尼翁 1964)。 為了避免真菌的發展,氯化苯酚,特別是五氯苯酚,已被廣泛使用; 不幸的是,這些化學品被發現對工人有毒。 三個屬的酵母(紅酵母屬、枝孢屬球擬酵母屬) 也被發現 (Kallenberger 1978)。 破傷風、炭疽、鉤端螺旋體病、流行性口瘡、Q 熱和布魯氏菌病是工人在製革過程中可能因受感染的生皮而感染的疾病的例子(Valsecchi 和 Fiorio 1978)。

皮膚病如濕疹和接觸性(過敏性)皮炎也被診斷為暴露於應用於生皮的防腐劑的製革商(Abrams 和 Warr 1951)。 事實證明,在美國所有工作組中,皮革鞣製和整理過程的皮膚病發病率最高(Stevens 1979)。 吸入鉻鞣過程中釋放的鉻酸煙霧後,也可能會刺激喉嚨和鼻子的粘膜以及鼻中隔穿孔。

制革工人有可能接觸到許多已知或疑似職業致癌物,包括六價鉻鹽、聯苯胺基偶氮染料、有機溶劑(例如苯和甲醛)、五氯苯酚、N-亞硝基化合物、砷、二甲基甲酰胺和空氣中的皮革粉塵. 這些暴露可能導致各種特定部位的癌症的發展。 在意大利進行的研究(Seniori、Merler 和 Saracci 1990 年;Bonassi 等人 1990 年)和在美國進行的病例對照研究(Garabrant 和 Wegman 1984 年)中觀察到肺癌過多,但這結果並不總是得到其他研究的支持(Mikoczy、Schutz 和 Hagmar 1994;Stern 等人 1987;Pippard 和 Acheson 1985)。 鉻和砷化物被認為是導致肺癌過量的可能因素。 至少在兩項獨立的製革廠研究中觀察到軟組織肉瘤的風險顯著增加,一項在意大利,一項在英國; 兩項研究的調查人員都表明,制革廠使用的氯酚可能導致了這些惡性腫瘤(Seniori 等人,1989 年;Mikoczy、Schutz 和 Hagmar,1994 年)。

瑞典的一項病例對照研究(Erdling 等人,1986 年)指出,胰腺癌死亡率在統計學上顯著增加了三倍; 另一項對三個瑞典制革廠的研究(Mikoczy、Schutz 和 Hagmar,50 年)和對一家意大利制革廠的研究(Seniori 等人,1994 年)也注意到胰腺癌增加了 1989%。 儘管胰腺癌的風險過高,但沒有確定具體的環境因素,飲食因素被認為是一種可能性。 在一家製革廠的塗飾部門的皮革製革工人中觀察到睾丸癌的風險過高; 所有三名患有睾丸癌的工人都在同一時期工作,並接觸過二甲基甲酰胺(Levin 等人,1987 年;Calvert 等人,1990 年)。 在意大利的一項病例對照研究中觀察到皮革製革工人患鼻竇癌的風險過高; 鉻、皮革粉塵和單寧被認為是可能的病原體(Comba 等人,1992 年;Battista 等人,1995 年)。 然而,IARC 在 1980 年代初期的研究沒有發現皮革鞣製與鼻癌之間存在關聯的證據(IARC 1981)。 對中國皮革製革行業的一項研究結果顯示,在曾經接觸過聯苯胺染料的製革工人中,膀胱癌的發病率在統計學上顯著增加,並且隨著接觸時間的延長而增加(Chen 1990)。

事故也是製革工人殘疾的主要原因。 在潮濕和油膩的地板上滑倒和跌倒是很常見的,在皮革修剪過程中被刀割傷也是很常見的。 此外,用於加工生皮的機器能夠壓碎並造成瘀傷、擦傷和截肢。 例如,美國勞工統計局 (BLS) 1994 年的數據顯示,SIC 311 中受傷和疾病的發生率為每 19.1 名全職工人合計 100 起,單獨受傷的發生率為 16.4 起。 這些結果比所有製造業的疾病和傷害發生率高出 50% 以上,即每 12.2 名全職工人中有 100 人患病,而單獨的傷害發生率為 10.4 人(美國勞工統計局 1995 年)。

鞋類

在鞋靴製造過程中處理和加工皮革可能需要接觸上述鞣製和精加工過程中使用的某些化學品,從而引發類似的疾病。 此外,使用不同的化學品還可能產生其他疾病。 暴露於粘合劑和清潔劑中使用的有毒溶劑以及空氣中的皮革粉塵尤其令人擔憂。 一種特別值得關注的溶劑是苯,它會導致血小板減少; 紅細胞、血小板和白細胞計數下降; 和全血細胞減少症。 製鞋業已基本消除苯。 在製鞋廠的工人中也發現了周圍神經病,原因是 n- 粘合劑中的己烷。 這在很大程度上也已被毒性較小的溶劑所取代。 腦電圖變化、肝損傷和行為改變也與製鞋工人接觸溶劑有關。

苯已被判定為人類致癌物 (IARC 1982),許多調查人員觀察到在製鞋業接觸苯的工人中白血病過多。 一項研究包括意大利佛羅倫薩最大的製鞋工廠,該工廠由 2,000 多名員工組成。 研究結果顯示白血病的風險增加了四倍,苯被認為是最有可能的暴露(Paci 等人,1989 年)。 這項研究的後續行動表明,從事大量接觸苯的工作的製鞋工人的風險超過五倍(Fu 等人,1996 年)。 英國一項調查製鞋業男性死亡率的研究發現,處理含苯膠水和溶劑的工人患白血病的風險較高(Pippard 和 Acheson,1985 年)。 對土耳其伊斯坦布爾製鞋業工人的多項研究報告稱,接觸苯會增加患白血病的風險。 當後來苯被汽油取代時,白血病的絕對數量和風險大大下降(Aksoy、Erdem 和 DinCol 1974 年;1976 年;Aksoy 和 Erdem 1978 年)。

各種類型的鼻癌(腺癌、鱗狀細胞癌和移行細胞癌)與製鞋和修鞋業有關。 意大利和英國的研究報導了超過十倍的相對風險(Fu 等人,1996 年;Comba 等人,1992 年;Merler 等人,1986 年;Pippard 和 Acheson,1985 年;Acheson,1972 年,1976 年;Cecchi 等人。 1980),但在美國則不然(DeCoufle 和 Walrath 1987;Walker 等人 1993)。 鼻癌風險升高幾乎完全是由於員工在準備室和整理室“大量”接觸皮革灰塵。 接觸皮革灰塵可能增加患鼻癌風險的機制尚不清楚。

過多的消化道和泌尿道癌症,例如膀胱癌(Malker 等人 1984 年;Morrison 等人 1985 年)、腎癌(Walker 等人 1993 年;Malker 等人 1984 年)、胃癌(Walrath、DeCoufle 和 Thomas 1987 年)和直腸癌(DeCoufle 和 Walrath,1983 年;Walrath、DeCoufle 和 Thomas,1987 年),已在製鞋工人的其他研究中發現,但沒有得到一致的報導,也沒有與行業中的特定暴露聯繫起來。

導致與工作相關的肌肉骨骼疾病 (WRMD) 的人體工程學危害是製鞋業的主要問題。 這些危險是由於使用了專門的設備和需要重複動作、用力用力和笨拙的身體姿勢的動手工作。 BLS 數據顯示男鞋是“與反复創傷相關的非致命疾病發生率最高的行業”之一(BLS 1995)。 整個製鞋業的疾病和傷害發生率為每 11.9 名工人 100 人,其中僅傷害發生率為 8.6 人。 這些比率略低於所有製造業的發生率。 製鞋業中的 WRMD 包括肌腱炎、滑膜炎、腱鞘炎、滑囊炎、神經節囊腫、拉傷、腕管綜合症、腰痛和頸椎損傷等病症。

毛皮工人

毛皮加工涉及三類工人的活動。 皮草梳妝台的肉和棕褐色的皮膚; 毛皮染色師然後用天然或合成染料給毛皮染色或染色; 最後是毛皮服務人員對毛皮進行分級、匹配和打包。 梳妝台和染色台會接觸到潛在的致癌物質,包括單寧酸、氧化染料、鉻和甲醛,而毛皮服務人員在處理之前加工過的毛皮時可能會接觸到殘留的鞣製材料。 對毛皮工人進行的流行病學研究很少。 對這些工人進行的唯一一項綜合研究表明,與美國的總體發病率相比,染色工患結腸直腸癌和肝癌、梳妝台患肺癌以及服務人員患心血管疾病的風險在統計學上有所升高(Sweeney、Walrath 和 Waxweiler,1985 年) ).

 

上一頁

更多內容 4206 最後修改於 29 年 2011 月 07 日星期三 49:XNUMX

" 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

內容

皮革、毛皮和鞋類參考資料

艾布拉姆斯,H 和 P Warr。 1951. 通過接觸動物和動物產品傳播的職業病。 Ind Med Surgery 20:341-351。

Acheson, E. 1972。英格蘭和威爾士的鼻腔和鼻竇腺癌。 Br J Ind Med 29:21-30。

—. 1976. 家具、靴子和製鞋業的鼻癌。 預防醫學 5:295-315。

Askoy、M 和 S Erdem。 1978. 44 例慢性苯接觸全血細胞減少患者的死亡率和白血病發展的隨訪研究。 血液 52:285-292。

Askoy、M、S Erdem 和 G DinCol。 1974. 長期接觸苯的製鞋工人患白血病。 血液 44:837-841。

—. 1976. 慢性苯中毒的白血病類型。 一項針對 55 名患者的研究。 血液學報 65:72-XNUMX。

Battista、G、P Comba、D Orsi、K Norpoth 和 A Maier。 1995. 皮革工人的鼻癌:一種職業病。 J Cancer Res Clin Oncol 121:1-6。

Bonassi、S、F Merlo、R Puntoni、F Ferraris 和 G Bottura。 1990. Biella 制革廠的肺腫瘤流行病。 流行病學啟示錄 12:25-30。

勞工統計局 (BLS)。 1995 年。職業傷害和疾病調查,1994 年。華盛頓特區:BLS。

Calvert、G、J Fajen、B Hills 和 W Halperin。 1990. 睾丸癌、二甲基甲酰胺和皮革製革廠。 柳葉刀 336:1253-1254。

Cecchi、F、E Buiatti、D Kriebel、L Nastasi 和 M Santucci。 1980. 意大利佛羅倫薩省鞋匠和木匠的鼻腺癌和鼻竇癌。 Br J Ind Med 37:222-226。

Chen, J. 1990。上海(中國)制革行業接觸聯苯胺衍生染料的工人的癌症經歷隊列研究。 中國預防醫學雜誌 24:328-331。

Comba、P、G Battista、S Bell、B de Capus、E Merler、D Orsi、S Rodella、C Vindieni 和 O Axelson。 1992. 鼻癌和鼻竇癌與職業暴露的病例對照研究。 Am J Ind Med 22:511-520。

DeCoufle、P 和 J Walrath。 1983。1966-1972 年美國製鞋工人的死亡率比例。 Am J Ind Med 4:523-532。

—. 1987. 美國製鞋業的鼻癌:是否存在? Am J Ind Med 12:605-613。

Erdling、C、H Kling、U Flodin 和 O Axelson。 1986. 制革工人的癌症死亡率。 Br J Ind Med 43:484-496。

Fu、H、P Demers、A Costantini、P Winter、D Colin、M Kogevinas 和 P Boffetta。 1996. 製鞋工人的癌症死亡率:兩個隊列的分析。 佔領環境醫學 53:394-398。

Garabrant、D 和 D 韋格曼。 1984 年。馬薩諸塞州製鞋和皮革工人的癌症死亡率。 Am J Ind Med 5:303-314。

國際癌症研究機構 (IARC)。 1981. 木材、皮革和一些相關行業。 卷。 28. 里昂:IARC。

—. 1982. 一些工業化學品和染料。 卷。 29. 里昂:IARC。

國際勞工組織(勞工組織)。 1992 年。皮革和製鞋業的就業和工作條件以及競爭力,報告二,皮革和製鞋業第四次三方技術會議,部門活動計劃。 日內瓦:國際勞工組織。

Kallenberger, W. 1978。鉻鞣和加工中酵母的研究。 J Am Leather Chem Assoc 73:6-21。

Levin、S、D Baker、P Landrigan、S Monaghan、E Frumin、M Braithwaite 和 W Towne。 1987. 暴露於二甲基甲酰胺的皮革製革工人的睾丸癌。 柳葉刀 2:1153。

Malker、H、B Malker、J McLaughin 和 W Blot。 1984. 皮革工人中的腎癌。 柳葉刀 1:50。

Martignone, G. 1964。實用曬黑論文。 都靈:Levrotto 和 Bella。

Merler、E、A Baldesseroni、R Laria、P Faravelli、R Agostini、R Pisa 和 F Berrino。 1986. 關於暴露於皮革灰塵與鼻癌之間的因果關係:來自病例對照研究的進一步證據。 Br J Ind Med 43:91-95。

Mikoczy、Z、A Schutz 和 L Hagmar。 1994. 瑞典皮革製革商的癌症發病率和死亡率。 佔領環境醫學 51:530-535。

Mikoczy、Z、A Schutz、U Stromberg 和 L Hagmar。 1996. 瑞典制革行業的癌症發病率和特定職業暴露:一項基於隊列的病例對照研究。 佔領環境醫學 53:463-467。

莫里森、A、A Ahibom、W Verhock、K Aoli、I Leck、Y Ohno 和 K Obata。 1985. 美國波士頓、英國曼徹斯特和日本名古屋的職業癌和膀胱癌。 日本流行病學和社區衛生雜誌 39:294-300。

管理和預算辦公室 (OMB)。 1987. 標準行業分類手冊。 華盛頓特區:美國 GPO。

Paci、E、E Buiatti、A Costantini、L Miligi、N Puci、A Scarpelli、G Petrioli、L Simonato、R Winkelmann 和 J Kaldor。 1989. 一組接觸苯的製鞋工人的再生障礙性貧血、白血病和其他癌症死亡率。 Scand J Work Environ Health 15:313-318。

皮帕德、E 和 E 艾奇遜。 1985. 靴子和鞋匠的死亡率,特別提到癌症。 Scand J Work Environ Health 11:249-255。

Seniori、C、E Merler 和 R Saracci。 1990. 制革、皮革和製鞋行業職業癌症風險的流行病學研究。 Medicina del Lavaro 81:184-211。

Seniori、C、E Paci、I Miligi、E Buiatti、C Martelli 和 S Lenzi。 1989 年。托斯卡納制革業工人的癌症死亡率。 Br J Ind Med 46:384-388。

Stern、FB、JJ Beaumont、WE Halperin、LI Murphy、BW Hills 和 JM Fajen。 1987. 鉻皮革製革工人的死亡率和製革廠的化學品暴露。 Scand J Work Environ Health 13:108-117。

Stevens, C. 1979。評估職業性皮膚問題。 職業健康安全 48(18):39-43。

Sweeney、M、J Walrath 和 R Waxweiler。 1985 年。退休毛皮工人的死亡率:染工、裁縫(制革商)和服務人員。 Scand J Work Environ Health 11:257-264。

聯合國環境規劃署(環境署)。 1991. 制革廠與環境。 減少制革廠運營對環境影響的技術指南。 工業和環境辦公室。 技術報告系列第 4 號。巴黎:環境署。

Valsecchi, M 和 A Fiorio。 1978. 制革行業的運行週期和相關風險。 證券 63:132-144。

Walker、J、T Bloom、F Stern、A Okun、M Fingerhut 和 W Halperin。 1993. 製鞋業工人的死亡率。 Scand J Work Environ Health 19:89-95。

Walrath、J、P DeCoufle 和 T Thomas。 1987. 一家製鞋公司工人的死亡率。 Am J Ind Med 12:615-623。

Tuesday, 29 March 2011 20:05

Health Effects and Disease Patterns

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Leather Tanning

The major International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC) group for the leather and fur processing is 323. In the United States, the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) group for leather and leather manufacturing products industry is SIC 311 (OMB 1987). This group includes establishments engaged in tanning, currying and finishing hides and skins, as well as establishments manufacturing finished leather and artificial leather products and some similar products made of other materials. Leather converter, belting and chamois leather are also included in SIC 311. In addition, parts of SIC 23 (i.e., SIC 2371 and 2386) include establishments involved in the manufacturing of coats, garments, accessories and trimmings made of fur and establishments involved in sheep-lined clothing.

There are many varieties of leather with different characteristics depending upon the animal species and the specific part of the body of the animal from which the hide is obtained. Hides are made from cattle or horse skins; fancy leather from the skin of the calf, pig, goat, sheep and so on; and reptile leather from crocodile, lizard, chameleon and so on.

Employment in the leather and leather manufacturing products industry has been associated with various diseases caused by biological, toxicological and carcinogenic agents. The specific disease associated with exposure in the leather industry depends upon the extent to which the worker is exposed to the agent(s), which is dependent upon the occupation and work area within the industry.

For the tanning process, the epidermis of the hide is first removed and only the dermis transformed into leather. During this process, infection is a constant hazard, since the hide serves as a medium for numerous micro-organisms. Colonies of fungi may develop, specifically Aspergillus niger and Penicillus glaucum (Martignone 1964). To avoid the development of fungi, chlorinated phenols, specifically pentachlorophenol, have been widely used; unfortunately, such chemicals have been found to be toxic to the worker. Yeasts of three genera (Rhodotorula, Cladosporium and Torulopsis) have also been found (Kallenberger 1978). Tetanus, anthrax, leptospirosis, epizootic aphtha, Q fever and brucellosis are examples of diseases that workers could contract during the tanning process due to infected hides (Valsecchi and Fiorio 1978).

Skin disorders such as eczema and contact (allergic) dermatitis have also been diagnosed among leather tanners exposed to preservatives applied to the hides (Abrams and Warr 1951). The leather tanning and finishing process has been shown to have the highest incidence of dermatoses of any working group in the United States (Stevens 1979). Irritations of the mucous membranes of the throat and nose and perforations of the nasal septum may also occur after inhaling chromic acid fumes liberated during the chrome-tanning process.

Tannery workers have the potential for exposure to numerous known or suspected occupational carcinogens, including hexavalent chromium salts, benzidine-based azo dyes, organic solvents (e.g., benzene and formaldehyde), pentachlorophenol, N-nitroso compounds, arsenic, dimethylformamide and airborne leather dusts. These exposures may result in the development of various site-specific cancers. An excess of lung cancer has been observed in studies carried out in Italy (Seniori, Merler and Saracci 1990; Bonassi et al. 1990) and in a case-control study carried out in the United States (Garabrant and Wegman 1984), but this result is not always supported by other studies (Mikoczy, Schutz and Hagmar 1994; Stern et al. 1987; Pippard and Acheson 1985). Chromium and arsenicals were mentioned as possible contributors to the lung cancer excess. A significantly increased risk of soft tissue sarcoma has been observed in at least two separate tannery studies, one in Italy and one in the United Kingdom; the investigators of both studies suggest that the chlorophenols used at the tanneries may have produced these malignancies (Seniori et al. 1989; Mikoczy, Schutz and Hagmar 1994).

A threefold statistically significant excess in pancreatic cancer mortality was noted in a Swedish case control study (Erdling et al. 1986); a 50% increase in pancreatic cancer was also noted in another study examining three Swedish tanneries (Mikoczy, Schutz and Hagmar 1994) and in a study of an Italian tannery (Seniori et al. 1989). Despite the excess risk of pancreatic cancer, no specific environmental agent was identified, and dietary factors were considered a possibility. An excess risk of testicular cancer was observed among leather tanners from the finishing department of one tannery; all three workers with testicular cancer had worked during the same time period and were exposed to dimethylformamide (Levin et al. 1987; Calvert et al. 1990). An excess risk of sinonasal cancer among leather tannery workers was observed in a case-control study in Italy; chromium, leather dust and tannins were indicated as possible aetiological agents (Comba et al. 1992; Battista et al. 1995). However, IARC research in the early 1980s found no evidence of an association between leather tanning and nasal cancer (IARC 1981). The results of a study of the Chinese leather tanning industry showed a statistically significant excess morbidity from bladder cancer among those tanners ever exposed to benzidine-based dyes, which increased with duration of exposure (Chen 1990).

Accidents are also a leading cause of disability in leather tannery workers. Slips and falls on wet and greasy floors are common, as are knife cuts from the trimming of hides. In addition, the machines used to process the hides are capable of crushing and inflicting bruises, abrasions and amputations. For example, United States Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) data for 1994 have shown an incidence rate in SIC 311 for injuries and illnesses combined of 19.1 per 100 full-time workers and an incidence rate for injuries alone of 16.4. These results are over 50% higher than the all-manufacturing incidence for illnesses and injuries combined, 12.2 per 100 full-time workers, and the incidence of 10.4 for injuries alone (BLS 1995).

Footwear

The handling and processing of leather in the manufacturing of shoes and boots may entail exposures to some of the same chemicals used in the tanning and finishing processes as cited above, giving rise to similar diseases. Furthermore, different chemicals used may also produce other diseases. Exposures to the toxic solvents used in adhesives and cleaners and to airborne leather dusts are of particular concern. One solvent of specific concern is benzene, which can produce thrombocytopenia; depression of the red blood cell, platelet and white cell counts; and pancytopenia. Benzene has largely been eliminated from the footwear industry. Peripheral neuropathy has also been found among workers in shoemaking factories due to n-hexane in the adhesives. This, too, has largely been substituted for by less toxic solvents. Electroencephalographic changes, liver damage and behavioural alterations have also been reported in connection with exposure to solvents in shoeworkers.

Benzene has been judged to be a human carcinogen (IARC 1982), and various investigators have observed excess leukaemias among workers exposed to benzene in the shoe industry. One study included the largest shoe manufacturing facility in Florence, Italy, consisting of over 2,000 employees. The study results revealed a fourfold excess risk of leukaemia, and benzene was cited as the most likely exposure (Paci et al. 1989). A follow-up to this study showed an over fivefold risk for those shoe workers employed in jobs where benzene exposure was substantial (Fu et al. 1996). A study in the United Kingdom examining mortality among males employed in shoe manufacturing found an elevated risk for leukaemia among workers handling glues and solvents which contained benzene (Pippard and Acheson 1985). Various studies of shoe industry workers in Istanbul, Turkey, have reported an excess risk of leukaemia from exposure to benzene. When benzene was later replaced by petrol, the absolute number of cases and risk of leukaemia dropped considerably (Aksoy, Erdem and DinCol 1974; 1976; Aksoy and Erdem 1978).

Various types of nasal cancer (adenocarcinoma, squamous-cell carcinoma and transitional-cell carcinoma) have been associated with employment in shoe manufacture and repair. Relative risks in excess of tenfold have been reported from studies in Italy and the United Kingdom (Fu et al. 1996; Comba et al. 1992; Merler et al. 1986; Pippard and Acheson 1985; Acheson 1972, 1976; Cecchi et al. 1980) but not in the United States (DeCoufle and Walrath 1987; Walker et al. 1993). The elevated nasal cancer risks were almost entirely accounted for by employees “heavily” exposed to leather dust in the preparation and finishing rooms. The mechanism by which exposure to leather dust may increase the risk of nasal cancer is not known.

Excesses of digestive and urinary tract cancers, such as bladder (Malker et al. 1984; Morrison et al. 1985), kidney (Walker et al. 1993; Malker et al. 1984), stomach (Walrath, DeCoufle and Thomas 1987) and rectal (DeCoufle and Walrath 1983; Walrath, DeCoufle and Thomas 1987) cancers, have been found in other studies of shoe workers but have not been consistently reported and have not been linked with particular exposures in the industry.

Ergonomic hazards causing work-related musculoskeletal disorders (WRMDs) are major problems in the shoe manufacturing industry. These hazards are due to the specialized equipment used and hands-on work requiring repetitive movements, forceful exertions and awkward body postures. BLS data show men’s footwear to be one of the “industries with the highest rates of nonfatal illness disorders associated with repeated trauma” (BLS 1995). The incidence rate for the total footwear industry for illnesses and injuries combined was found to be 11.9 per 100 workers, with 8.6 being the incidence rate for injuries alone. These rates are slightly less than the incidence rates for all manufacturing. WRMDs in the shoe manufacturing industry include conditions such as tendinitis, synovitis, tenosynovitis, bursitis, ganglionic cysts, strains, carpal tunnel syndrome, low-back pain and cervical spine injuries.

Fur Workers

Fur processing involves the activities of three categories of workers. Fur dressers flesh and tan skins; fur dyers then colour or tint the skins with natural or synthetic dyes; and finally fur service workers grade, match and bale dressed furs. Dressers and dyers are exposed to potential carcinogens including tannins, oxidative dyes, chromium and formaldehyde, whereas fur service workers are potentially exposed to residual tanning materials while handling previous dressed furs. Very few epidemiological studies have been conducted on fur workers. The only comprehensive study among these workers revealed statistically elevated risks of colo-rectal and liver cancer among the dyers, lung cancer among the dressers and cardiovascular diseases among the service workers as compared to overall rates in the United States (Sweeney, Walrath and Waxweiler 1985).

 

Back

Read 2497 times Last modified on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 07:49

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Clothing and Finished Textile Products
Leather, Fur and Footwear
Textile Goods Industry
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides

Leather, Fur and Footwear References

Abrams, H and P Warr. 1951. Occupational diseases transmitted via contact with animals and animal products. Ind Med Surgery 20:341-351.

Acheson, E. 1972. Adenocarcinoma of the nasal cavity and sinuses in England and Wales. Br J Ind Med 29:21-30.

—. 1976. Nasal cancer in the furniture and boot and shoe manufacturing industries. Prevent Med 5:295-315.

Askoy, M and S Erdem. 1978. Followup study on the mortality and the development of leukemia in 44 pancytopenic patients with chronic exposure to benzene. Blood 52:285-292.

Askoy, M, S Erdem, and G DinCol. 1974. Leukemia in shoeworkers exposed chronically to benzene. Blood 44:837-841.

—. 1976. Types of leukemia in chronic benzene poisoning. A study in thirty-four patients. Acta Haematol 55:65-72.

Battista, G, P Comba, D Orsi, K Norpoth, and A Maier. 1995. Nasal cancer in leather workers: An occupational disease. J Cancer Res Clin Oncol 121:1-6.

Bonassi, S, F Merlo, R Puntoni, F Ferraris, and G Bottura. 1990. Epidemics of lung tumors in a Biella tannery. Epidemiol Rev 12:25-30.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). 1995. Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses, 1994. Washington, DC: BLS.

Calvert, G, J Fajen, B Hills, and W Halperin. 1990. Testicular cancer, dimethylformamide, and leather tanneries. Lancet 336:1253-1254.

Cecchi, F, E Buiatti, D Kriebel, L Nastasi, and M Santucci. 1980. Adenocarcinoma of the nose and paranasal sinuses in shoemakers and woodmakers in the province of Florence, Italy. Br J Ind Med 37:222-226.

Chen, J. 1990. A cohort study of the cancer experience among workers exposed to benzidine-derived dyes in Shanghai (China) leather-tanning industry. Chin J Prev Med 24:328-331.

Comba, P, G Battista, S Bell, B de Capus, E Merler, D Orsi, S Rodella, C Vindieni, and O Axelson. 1992. A case-control study of cancer of the nose and paranasal sinuses and occupational exposures. Am J Ind Med 22:511-520.

DeCoufle, P and J Walrath. 1983. Proportionate mortality among US shoeworkers, 1966-1972. Am J Ind Med 4:523-532.

—. 1987. Nasal cancer in the US shoe industry: Does it exist? Am J Ind Med 12:605-613.

Erdling, C, H Kling, U Flodin, and O Axelson. 1986. Cancer mortality among leather tanners. Br J Ind Med 43:484-496.

Fu, H, P Demers, A Costantini, P Winter, D Colin, M Kogevinas, and P Boffetta. 1996. Cancer mortality among shoe manufacturing workers: An analysis of two cohorts. Occup Environ Med 53:394-398.

Garabrant, D and D Wegman. 1984. Cancer mortality among shoe and leather workers in Massachusetts. Am J Ind Med 5:303-314.

International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). 1981. Wood, leather and some associated industries. Vol. 28. Lyon: IARC.

—. 1982. Some industrial chemicals and dyestuffs. Vol. 29. Lyon: IARC.

International Labour Organization (ILO). 1992. Employment and Working Conditions and Competitiveness in the Leather and Footwear Industry, Report II, Fourth Tripartite Technical Meeting for the Leather and Footwear Industry, Sectoral Activities Programme. Geneva: ILO.

Kallenberger, W. 1978. A study of yeasts in chrome tanning and processing. J Am Leather Chem Assoc 73:6-21.

Levin, S, D Baker, P Landrigan, S Monaghan, E Frumin, M Braithwaite, and W Towne. 1987. Testicular cancer in leather tanners exposed to dimethylformamide. Lancet 2:1153.

Malker, H, B Malker, J McLaughin, and W Blot. 1984. Kidney cancer among leather workers. Lancet 1:50.

Martignone, G. 1964. Treatise on Practical Tanning. Turin: Levrotto and Bella.

Merler, E, A Baldesseroni, R Laria, P Faravelli, R Agostini, R Pisa, and F Berrino. 1986. On the causal association between exposure to leather dust and nasal cancer: Further evidence from a case-control study. Br J Ind Med 43:91-95.

Mikoczy, Z, A Schutz, and L Hagmar. 1994. Cancer incidence and mortality among Swedish leather tanners. Occup Environ Med 51:530-535.

Mikoczy, Z, A Schutz, U Stromberg, and L Hagmar. 1996. Cancer incidence and specific occupational exposures in the Swedish leather tanning industry: A cohort based case-control study. Occup Environ Med 53:463-467.

Morrison, A, A Ahibom, W Verhock, K Aoli, I Leck, Y Ohno, and K Obata. 1985. Occupational and bladder cancer in Boston, USA, Manchester, UK, and Nagoya, Japan. Japan Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health 39:294-300.

Office of Management and Budget (OMB). 1987. Standard Industrial Classification Manual. Washington, DC: US GPO.

Paci, E, E Buiatti, A Costantini, L Miligi, N Puci, A Scarpelli, G Petrioli, L Simonato, R Winkelmann, and J Kaldor. 1989. Aplastic anemia, leukemia and other cancer mortality in a cohort of shoe workers exposed to benzene. Scand J Work Environ Health 15:313-318.

Pippard, E and E Acheson. 1985. The mortality of boot and shoe makers, with special reference to cancer. Scand J Work Environ Health 11:249-255.

Seniori, C, E Merler, and R Saracci. 1990. Epidemiological studies on occupational cancer risk in the tanning, leather and shoe industries. Medicina del Lavaro 81:184-211.

Seniori, C, E Paci, I Miligi, E Buiatti, C Martelli, and S Lenzi. 1989. Cancer mortality among workers in the Tuscan tannery industry. Br J Ind Med 46:384-388.

Stern, FB, JJ Beaumont, WE Halperin, LI Murphy, BW Hills, and JM Fajen. 1987. Mortality of chrome leather tannery workers and chemical exposures in tanneries. Scand J Work Environ Health 13:108-117.

Stevens, C. 1979. Assessing skin problems of occupational origin. Occup Health Safety 48(18):39-43.

Sweeney, M, J Walrath, and R Waxweiler. 1985. Mortality among retired fur workers: Dyers, dressers (tanners) and service workers. Scand J Work Environ Health 11:257-264.

United Nations Environment Program (UNEP). 1991. Tanneries and the Environment. A Technical Guide to Reducing the Environmental Impact of Tannery Operations. Industry and Environment Office. Technical Report Series No. 4. Paris: UNEP.

Valsecchi, M and A Fiorio. 1978. Operating cycle in the tanning industry and related risks. Securities 63:132-144.

Walker, J, T Bloom, F Stern, A Okun, M Fingerhut, and W Halperin. 1993. Mortality of workers employed in shoe manufacturing. Scand J Work Environ Health 19:89-95.

Walrath, J, P DeCoufle, and T Thomas. 1987. Mortality among workers in a shoe manufacturing company. Am J Ind Med 12:615-623.