星期六,三月19 2011 20:40

概況

評價這個項目
(0票)

微電子和半導體行業的工藝和產品種類繁多。 本章職業健康與安全討論的重點是半導體集成電路 (IC) 生產(矽基產品和 III-V 價化合物)、印刷線路板 (PWB) 生產、印刷電路板 (PCB)裝配和計算機裝配。

該行業由許多主要部分組成。 電子工業協會在報告有關行業內相關趨勢、銷售和就業的數據時使用以下描述:

  • 電子元器件
  • 消費類電子產品
  • 電信
  • 國防通訊
  • 電腦及外圍設備
  • 工業電子
  • 醫療電子。

 

電子元件包括電子管(例如接收管、專用管和電視管)、固態產品(例如晶體管、二極管、IC、發光二極管 (LED) 和液晶顯示器 (LCD))以及無源和其他組件(例如,電容器、電阻器、線圈、變壓器和開關)。

消費電子產品包括電視機和其他家用和便攜式影音產品,以及個人電腦、傳真機和電話應答器等信息設備。 電子遊戲硬件和軟件、家庭安全系統、空白音頻和視頻磁帶和軟盤、電子配件和原電池也屬於消費電子產品類別。

除通用和專用計算機外,計算機及其外圍設備還包括輔助存儲設備、輸入/輸出設備(如鍵盤、鼠標、光學掃描設備和打印機)、終端設備等。 雖然電信、國防通信以及工業和醫療電子產品使用一些相同的技術,但這些領域還涉及專用設備。

微電子產業的出現對世界經濟的演進和結構產生了深遠的影響。 世界工業化國家的變革步伐在很大程度上受到該行業的進步影響,特別是集成電路的發展。 這種變化的速度在每個集成電路芯片的晶體管數量的時間線中以圖形方式表示(見圖 1)。

圖 1. 每個集成電路芯片的晶體管

米科10F1

全球半導體銷售的經濟重要性是顯著的。 圖 2 是半導體工業協會對 1993 年至 1998 年全球和地區半導體銷售額的預測。

圖 2. 全球半導體銷售預測

米科10F2

與大多數其他工業類別相比,半導體 IC 和計算機/電子組裝行業在其生產勞動力的相對構成方面是獨一無二的。 半導體製造區域有很高比例的女性操作員在操作工藝設備。 與操作員相關的任務通常不需要舉重物或過多的體力。 此外,許多工作任務涉及精細運動技能和對細節的關注。 男性工人在維護相關任務、工程職能和管理中占主導地位。 在該行業的計算機/電子組裝部分也有類似的構成。 該行業的另一個不同尋常的特點是製造業集中在世界亞太地區。 這在 最終組裝 or 後端 半導體行業的工藝。 此處理涉及將製造的集成電路芯片(技術上稱為管芯)定位和放置在芯片載體和引線框架上。 這種處理需要芯片的精確定位,通常是通過顯微鏡,以及非常精細的運動技能。 同樣,女性工人在這部分過程中占主導地位,全球大部分生產集中在環太平洋地區,其中台灣、馬來西亞、泰國、印度尼西亞和菲律賓高度集中,中國和越南的人數也在增加。

半導體 IC 製造領域具有該行業獨有的各種不同尋常的特性和特徵。 即,IC 處理涉及極其嚴格的顆粒控制方案和要求。 典型的現代 IC 製造區域可能被評為 1 級或更低的潔淨室。 作為比較的方法,室外環境將大於500,000級; 房屋中的一個典型房間大約為 100,000 級; 以及大約10,000級的半導體後端組裝區。 要達到這種顆粒控制水平,實際上需要將製造工人置於完全封閉的環境中 兔子套裝 有空氣供應和過濾系統來控制製造區域工人產生的微粒水平。 製造區域的人員被認為是非常強大的細顆粒物產生者,這些顆粒物來自他們呼出的空氣、脫落的皮膚和頭髮,以及他們的衣服和鞋子。 這種穿著封閉的衣服和隔離工作程序的要求導致員工感覺他們在“不友好”的工作環境中工作。 參見圖 3。此外,在光刻區域,處理過程包括將晶圓暴露在光敏溶液中,然後使用紫外光在晶圓表面形成圖像。 為了減少來自該處理區域的不需要的紫外線 (UV),使用了特殊的黃光(它們缺少室內照明中常見的紫外線波長成分)。 這些黃燈有助於讓員工感覺他們處於不同的工作環境中,並且可能會對某些人產生迷失方向的影響。

圖 3. 最先進的潔淨室

麥克風010F3

 

上一頁

更多內容 3795 最後修改於 30 年 2022 月 23 日星期六 54:XNUMX
更多此類別中: 矽半導體製造 »

" 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

內容

微電子和半導體參考資料

美國政府工業衛生學家會議 (ACGIH)。 1989. 半導體製造中的危害評估與控制技術。 密歇根州切爾西:劉易斯出版社。

—. 1993. 半導體製造中的危害評估與控制技術 II. 俄亥俄州辛辛那提:ACGIH。

—. 1994. 閾限值文檔,松香芯焊料熱分解產物,作為樹脂酸-樹脂。 俄亥俄州辛辛那提:ACGIH。

美國國家標準協會 (ANSI)。 1986. 工業機器人和工業機器人系統安全標準。 ANSI/RIA R15.06-1986。 紐約:ANSI。

問問。 1990. 計算機行業:1990 年代的關鍵趨勢。 加利福尼亞州薩拉託加:電子趨勢出版物。

Asom、MT、J Mosovsky、RE Leibenguth、JL Zilko 和 G Cadet。 1991. 固體源 MBE 室打開期間瞬態胂的產生。 J 晶體生長 112(2-3):597–599。

電子、電信和商業設備行業協會 (EEA)。 1991. 電子行業樹脂(松香)助焊劑使用指南。 倫敦:歐洲經濟區萊切斯特大廈。

鮑德溫,DG。 1985. 四氯化碳等離子鋁蝕刻劑的化學暴露。 擴展文摘,Electrochem Soc 85(2):449–450。

鮑德溫、DG 和 JH 斯圖爾特。 1989. 半導體製造中的化學和輻射危害。 固態技術 32(8):131–135。

Baldwin、DG 和 ME Williams。 1996. 工業衛生。 在半導體安全手冊中,由 JD Bolmen 編輯。 新澤西州帕克里奇:諾伊斯。

Baldwin、DG、BW King 和 LP Scarpace。 1988. 離子注入機:化學和輻射安全。 固態技術 31(1):99–105。

Baldwin、DG、JR Rubin 和 MR Horowitz。 1993. 半導體製造中的工業衛生暴露。 SSA 雜誌 7(1):19–21。

Bauer、S、I Wolff、N Werner 和 P Hoffman。 1992a. 半導體行業的健康危害,綜述。 Pol J Occup Med 5(4):299–314。

Bauer、S、N Werner、I Wolff、B Damme、B Oemus 和 P Hoffman。 1992b。 半導體行業的毒理學調查:II。 鋁等離子蝕刻過程中產生的氣態廢物的亞急性吸入毒性和遺傳毒性研究。 Toxicol Ind Health 8(6):431–444。

布利斯工業。 1996. 銲渣顆粒捕獲系統文獻。 加利福尼亞州弗里蒙特市:Bliss Industries。

勞工統計局 (BLS)。 1993. 職業傷害和疾病年度調查。 華盛頓特區:BLS,美國勞工部。

—. 1995 年。就業和工資年平均數,1994 年。公報。 2467. 華盛頓特區:BLS,美國勞工部。

克拉克,RH。 1985. 印刷電路製造手冊。 紐約:Van Nostrand Reinhold 公司。

Cohen, R. 1986。微電子工業中的射頻和微波輻射。 在 State of the Art Reviews—Occupational Medicine:The Microelectronics Industry,J LaDou 主編。 賓夕法尼亞州費城:Hanley & Belfus, Inc.

庫姆斯,CF。 1988. 印刷電路手冊,第 3 版。 紐約:麥格勞-希爾圖書公司。

內容,RM。 1989. III-V族材料氣相外延中金屬和準金屬的控制方法。 在半導體製造中的危害評估和控制技術中,由美國政府工業衛生學家會議編輯。 密歇根州切爾西:劉易斯出版社。

Correa A、RH Gray、R Cohen、N Rothman、F Shah、H Seacat 和 M Corn。 1996. 乙二醇醚和自然流產和生育能力低下的風險。 美國流行病學雜誌 143(7):707–717。

Crawford、WW、D Green、WR Knolle、HM Marcos、JA Mosovsky、RC Petersen、PA Testagrossa 和 GH Zeman。 1993. 半導體潔淨室中的磁場暴露。 在半導體製造中的危害評估和控制技術 II。 俄亥俄州辛辛那提:ACGIH。

Escher、G、J Weathers 和 B Labonville。 1993. 深紫外準分子激光光刻的安全設計考慮。 在半導體製造中的危害評估和控制技術 II。 俄亥俄州辛辛那提:美國政府工業衛生學家會議。

Eskenazi B、EB Gold、B Lasley、SJ Samuels、SK Hammond、S Wright、MO Razor、CJ Hines 和 MB Schenker。 1995. 對女性半導體工人早期流產和臨床自然流產的前瞻性監測。 Am J Indust Med 28(6):833–846。

Flipp、N、H Hunsaker 和 P Herring。 1992. 離子注入設備維護過程中氫化物排放的調查。 在 1992 年 379 月的美國工業衛生會議上發表,波士頓 — 論文 XNUMX(未發表)。

Goh、CL 和 SK Ng。 1987. 空氣接觸性皮炎與助焊劑中的松香有關。 接觸性皮炎 17(2):89–93。

Hammond SK、CJ Hines MF Hallock、SR Woskie、S Abdollahzadeh、CR Iden、E Anson、F Ramsey 和 MB Schenker。 1995. 半導體健康研究中的分層暴露評估策略。 Am J Indust Med 28(6):661–680。

哈里森,RJ。 1986. 砷化鎵。 在最先進的評論——職業醫學:微電子行業,由 J LaDou 編輯,賓夕法尼亞州費城:Hanley & Belfus, Inc.

海瑟薇、GL、NH Proctor、JP Hughes 和 ML Fischman。 1991. 工作場所的化學危害,第 3 版。 紐約:Van Nostrand Reinhold。

豪森、BM、K Krohn 和 E Budianto。 1990. 松香引起的接觸過敏 (VII)。 用松香酸和相關酸的氧化產物進行敏化研究。 聯繫 Dermat 23(5):352–358。

健康與安全委員會。 1992 年批准的操作規範——呼吸致敏物的控制。 倫敦:健康與安全執行官。

Helb、GK、RE Caffrey、ET Eckroth、QT Jarrett、CL Fraust 和 JA Fulton。 1983. 等離子處理:一些安全、健康和工程方面的考慮。 固態技術 24(8):185–194。

Hines、CJ、S Selvin、SJ Samuels、SK Hammond、SR Woskie、MF Hallock 和 MB Schenker。 1995. 半導體健康研究中工人接觸評估的層次聚類分析。 Am J Indust Med 28(6):713–722。

霍洛維茨先生1992. 半導體研發設施中的非電離輻射問題。 發表於 1992 年 122 月美國工業衛生會議,波士頓 — 論文 XNUMX(未發表)。

瓊斯,JH。 1988. 半導體製造的暴露和控制評估。 AIP 會議過程。 (光伏安全)166:44-53。

LaDou, J(編)。 1986. 最新技術評論——職業醫學:微電子行業。 賓夕法尼亞州費城:Hanley and Belfus, Inc.

拉西特,DV。 1996. 國際工傷和疾病監測。 第三屆國際 ESH 會議論文集,加利福尼亞州蒙特雷。

里奇-馬歇爾,JM。 1991. 分析從 krypton-85 精細洩漏測試系統的暴露過程元素中檢測到的輻射。 SSA 雜誌 5(2):48–60。

鉛工業協會。 1990. 焊接安全,焊工健康指南和焊接。 紐約:Lead Industries Association, Inc.

Lenihan、KL、JK Sheehy 和 JH Jones。 1989. 砷化鎵加工中的暴露評估:案例研究。 在半導體製造中的危害評估和控制技術中,由美國政府工業衛生學家會議編輯。 密歇根州切爾西:劉易斯出版社。

Maletskos、CJ 和 PR Hanley。 1983. 離子注入系統的輻射防護考慮。 IEEE Trans on Nuclear Science NS-30:1592–1596。

麥卡錫,厘米。 1985. 半導體行業離子注入機維護期間的工人暴露。 碩士論文,猶他大學,猶他州鹽湖城,1984 年。在擴展摘要中總結,Electrochem Soc 85(2):448。

McCurdy SA、C Pocekay、KS Hammond、SR Woskie、SJ Samuels 和 MB Schenker。 1995. 半導體行業工人呼吸和一般健康結果的橫斷面調查。 Am J Indust Med 28(6):847–860。

麥金泰爾、AJ 和 BJ Sherin。 1989. 砷化鎵:危害、評估和控制。 固態技術 32(9):119–126。

微電子和計算機技術公司 (MCC)。 1994. 電子工業環境路線圖。 德克薩斯州奧斯汀:MCC。

—. 1996. 電子工業環境路線圖。 德克薩斯州奧斯汀:MCC。

Mosovsky、JA、D Rainer、T Moses 和 WE Quinn。 1992. III 半導體加工過程中的瞬態氫化物生成。 Appl Occup Environ Hyg 7(6):375–384。

Mueller、MR 和 RF Kunesh。 1989. 乾化學蝕刻劑對安全和健康的影響。 在半導體製造中的危害評估和控制技術中,由美國政府工業衛生學家會議編輯。 密歇根州切爾西:劉易斯出版社。

奧馬拉,WC。 1993. 液晶平板顯示器。 紐約:Van Nostrand Reinhold。

PACE Inc. 1994。排煙手冊。 馬里蘭州勞雷爾:PACE Inc.

Pastides、H、EJ Calabrese、DW Hosmer、Jr 和 DR Harris。 1988. 半導體製造商的自然流產和一般疾病症狀。 佔領醫學雜誌 30:543–551。

Pocekay D、SA McCurdy、SJ Samuels 和 MB Schenker。 1995. 半導體工人肌肉骨骼症狀和危險因素的橫斷面研究。 Am J Indust Med 28(6):861–871。

Rainer, D、WE Quinn、JA Mosovsky 和 ​​MT Asom。 1993. III-V 瞬態氫化物生成,固態技術 36(6):35–40。

Rhoades、BJ、DG Sands 和 VD Mattera。 1989. AT&T-Microelectronics-Reading 的化學氣相沉積 (CVD) 反應器中使用的安全和環境控制系統。 Appl Ind Hyg 4(5):105–109。

羅傑斯,JW。 1994. 半導體輻射安全。 1994 年 XNUMX 月在亞利桑那州斯科茨代爾舉行的半導體安全協會會議上發表(未發表)。

魯尼、FP 和 J Leavey。 1989. X 射線光刻源的安全和健康考慮。 在半導體製造中的危害評估和控制技術中,由美國政府工業衛生學家會議編輯。 密歇根州切爾西:劉易斯出版社。

羅森塔爾,FS 和 S Abdollahzadeh。 1991. 微電子製造室中極低頻 (ELF) 電場和磁場的評估。 Appl Occup Environ Hyg 6(9):777–784。

Roychowdhury, M. 1991。MOCVD 反應器系統的安全、工業衛生和環境考慮因素。 固態技術 34(1):36–38。

Scarpace、L、M Williams、D Baldwin、J Stewart 和 D Lassiter。 1989. 半導體製造業務的工業衛生抽樣結果。 在半導體製造中的危害評估和控制技術中,由美國政府工業衛生學家會議編輯。 密歇根州切爾西:劉易斯出版社。

Schenker MB、EB Gold、JJ Beaumont、B Eskenazi、SK Hammond、BL Lasley、SA McCurdy、SJ Samuels、CL Saiki 和 SH Swan。 1995 年自然流產和其他生殖影響協會在半導體行業工作。 Am J Indust Med 28(6):639–659。

Schenker、M、J Beaumont、B Eskenazi、E Gold、K Hammond、B Lasley、S McCurdy、S Samuels 和 S Swan。 1992. 提交給半導體行業協會的最終報告——半導體製造工人對生殖和其他健康影響的流行病學研究。 加利福尼亞州戴維斯:加利福尼亞大學。

施密特、R、H Scheufler、S Bauer、L Wolff、M Pelzing 和 R Herzschuh。 1995. 半導體行業的毒理學調查:III:鋁等離子蝕刻工藝廢品引起的產前毒性研究。 Toxicol Ind Health 11(1):49–61。

塞梅泰克。 1995. 矽烷安全轉移文件,96013067 A-ENG。 德克薩斯州奧斯汀:SEMATECH。

—. 1996. SEMI S2-93 和 SEMI S8-95 解釋指南。 德克薩斯州奧斯汀:SEMATECH。

半導體行業協會 (SIA)。 1995. 世界半導體銷售預測數據。 加利福尼亞州聖何塞:SIA。

希伊、JW 和 JH 瓊斯。 1993. 砷化鎵生產中砷暴露和控制的評估。 Am Ind Hyg Assoc J 54(2):61–69。

清醒,DJ。 1995. 使用“適用性”標準選擇層壓板,表面貼裝技術 (SMT)。 伊利諾伊州利伯蒂維爾:IHS 出版集團。

Wade、R、M Williams、T Mitchell、J Wong 和 B Tusé。 1981. 半導體產業研究。 加利福尼亞州舊金山:加州勞資關係部職業安全與健康司。

Saturday, 19 March 2011 20:40

General Profile

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The diversity of processes and products within the microelectronics and semiconductor industry is immense. The focus of the occupational health and safety discussion in this chapter centres on semiconductor integrated circuit (IC) production (both in silicon-based products and valence III-V compounds), printed wiring board (PWB) production, printed circuit board (PCB) assembly and computer assembly.

The industry is composed of numerous major segments. The Electronics Industry Association uses the following delineation in reporting data on pertinent trends, sales and employment within the industry:

  • electronic components
  • consumer electronics
  • telecommunications
  • defence communications
  • computers and peripheral equipment
  • industrial electronics
  • medical electronics.

 

Electronic components include electron tubes (e.g., receiving, special-purpose and television tubes), solid-state products (e.g., transistors, diodes, ICs, light-emitting diodes (LEDs) and liquid-crystal displays (LCDs)) and passive and other components (e.g., capacitors, resistors, coils, transformers and switches).

Consumer electronics include television sets and other home and portable audio and video products, as well as information equipment such as personal computers, facsimile transmission machines and telephone answering devices. Electronic gaming hardware and software, home security systems, blank audio and video cassettes and floppy disks, electronic accessories and total primary batteries also fall under the consumer electronics heading.

In addition to general purpose and specialized computers, computers and peripheral equipment includes auxiliary storage equipment, input/output equipment (e.g., keyboards, mice, optical scanning devices and printers), terminals and so on. While telecommunications, defence communications and industrial and medical electronics utilize some of the same technology these segments also involve specialized equipment.

The emergence of the microelectronics industry has had a profound impact on the evolution and structure of the world’s economy. The pace of change within industrialized nations of the world has been greatly influenced by advances within this industry, specifically in the evolution of the integrated circuit. This pace of change is graphically represented in the timeline of the number of transistors per integrated circuit chip (see figure 1).

Figure 1. Transistors per integrated circuit chip

MICO10F1

The economic importance of worldwide semiconductor sales is significant. Figure 2 is a projection by the Semiconductor Industry Association for worldwide and regional semiconductor sales for 1993 to 1998.

Figure 2. Worldwide semiconductor sales forecast

MICO10F2

The semiconductor IC and computer/electronics assembly industries are unique compared to most other industrial categories in the relative composition of their production workforces. The semiconductor fabrication area has a high percentage of female operators that run the process equipment. The operator-related tasks typically do not require heavy lifting or excess physical strength. Also, many of the job tasks involve fine motor skills and attention to detail. Male workers predominate in the maintenance-related tasks, engineering functions and management. A similar composition is found in the computer/electronics assembly portion of this industry segment. Another unusual feature of this industry is the concentration of manufacturing in the Asia/Pacific area of the world. This is especially true in the final assembly or back-end processes in the semiconductor industry. This processing involves the positioning and placement of the fabricated integrated circuit chip (technically known as a die) on a chip carrier and lead frame. This processing requires precise positioning of the chip, typically through a microscope, and very fine motor skills. Again, female workers predominate this part of the process, with the majority of worldwide production being concentrated in the Pacific Rim, with high concentrations in Taiwan, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and the Philippines, and growing numbers in China and Vietnam.

The semiconductor IC fabrication areas have various unusual properties and characteristics unique to this industry. Namely, the IC processing involves extremely tight particulate control regimens and requirements. A typical modern IC fabrication area may be rated as a Class 1 or less cleanroom. As a method of comparison, an outdoor environment would be greater than Class 500,000; a typical room in a house approximately Class 100,000; and a semiconductor back-end assembly area approximately Class 10,000. To attain this level of particulate control involves actually putting the fabrication worker in totally enclosed bunny suits that have air supply and filtration systems to control the levels of particulates generated by the workers in the fabrication area. The human occupants of the fabrication areas are considered very potent generators of fine particulates from their exhaled air, shedding of skin and hair, and from their clothing and shoes. This requirement for wearing confining clothing and isolating work routines has contributed to employees feeling like they are working in a “non-hospitable” work environment. See figure 3. Also, in the photolithographic area, the processing involves exposing the wafer to a photoactive solution, and then patterning an image on the wafer surface using ultraviolet light. To alleviate unwanted ultraviolet (UV) light from this processing area, special yellow lights are used (they lack the UV wavelength component normally found in indoor lighting). These yellow lights help to make the workers feel they are in a different work environment and can possibly have a disorienting affect on some individuals.

Figure 3. A state-of-the-art cleanroom

MIC010F3

 

Back

Read 1714 times Last modified on Monday, 05 September 2011 14:35

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Electrical Appliances and Equipment
Metal Processing and Metal Working Industry
Microelectronics and Semiconductors
Glass, Pottery and Related Materials
Printing, Photography and Reproduction Industry
Woodworking
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides

Microelectronics and Semiconductors References

American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH). 1989. Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers.

—. 1993. Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing II. Cincinnati, OH: ACGIH.

—. 1994. Documentation of Threshold Limit Value, Rosin Core Solder Thermal Decomposition Products, as Resin Acids-Colophony. Cincinnati, OH: ACGIH.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI). 1986. Safety Standard for Industrial Robots and Industrial Robot Systems. ANSI/RIA R15.06-1986. New York: ANSI.

ASKMAR. 1990. Computer Industry: Critical Trends for the 1990’s. Saratoga, CA: Electronic Trend Publications.

Asom, MT, J Mosovsky, RE Leibenguth, JL Zilko, and G Cadet. 1991. Transient arsine generation during opening of solid source MBE chambers. J Cryst Growth 112(2-3):597–599.

Association of the Electronics, Telecommunications and Business Equipment Industries (EEA). 1991. Guidelines on the Use of Colophony (Rosin) Solder Fluxes in the Electronics Industry. London: Leichester House EEA.

Baldwin, DG. 1985. Chemical exposure from carbon tetrachloride plasma aluminum etchers. Extended Abstracts, Electrochem Soc 85(2):449–450.

Baldwin, DG and JH Stewart. 1989. Chemical and radiation hazards in semiconductor manufacturing. Solid State Technology 32(8):131–135.

Baldwin, DG and ME Williams. 1996. Industrial hygiene. In Semiconductor Safety Handbook, edited by JD Bolmen. Park Ridge, NJ: Noyes.

Baldwin, DG, BW King, and LP Scarpace. 1988. Ion implanters: Chemical and radiation safety. Solid State Technology 31(1):99–105.

Baldwin, DG, JR Rubin, and MR Horowitz. 1993. Industrial hygiene exposures in semiconductor manufacturing. SSA Journal 7(1):19–21.

Bauer, S, I Wolff, N Werner, and P Hoffman. 1992a. Health hazards in the semiconductor industry, a review. Pol J Occup Med 5(4):299–314.

Bauer, S, N Werner, I Wolff, B Damme, B Oemus, and P Hoffman. 1992b. Toxicological investigations in the semiconductor industry: II. Studies on the subacute inhalation toxicity and genotoxicity of gaseous waste products from the aluminum plasma etching process. Toxicol Ind Health 8(6):431–444.

Bliss Industries. 1996. Solder Dross Particulate Capture System Literature. Fremont, CA: Bliss Industries.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). 1993. Annual Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses. Washington, DC: BLS, US Department of Labor.

—. 1995. Employment and Wages Annual Averages, 1994. Bulletin. 2467. Washington, DC: BLS, US Department of Labor.

Clark, RH. 1985. Handbook of Printed Circuit Manufacturing. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold Company.

Cohen, R. 1986. Radiofrequency and microwave radiation in microelectronics industry. In State of the Art Reviews—Occupational Medicine: The Microelectronics Industry, edited by J LaDou. Philadelphia, PA: Hanley & Belfus, Inc.

Coombs, CF. 1988. Printed Circuits Handbook, 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill Book Company.

Content, RM. 1989. Control methods for metal and metalloids in III-V materials vapor-phase epitaxy. In Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing, edited by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers.

Correa A, RH Gray, R Cohen, N Rothman, F Shah, H Seacat, and M Corn. 1996. Ethylene glycol ethers and risks of spontaneous abortion and subfertility. Am J Epidemiol 143(7):707–717.

Crawford, WW, D Green, WR Knolle, HM Marcos, JA Mosovsky, RC Petersen, PA Testagrossa, and GH Zeman. 1993. Magnetic field exposure in semiconductor cleanrooms. In Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing II. Cincinnati, OH: ACGIH.

Escher, G, J Weathers, and B Labonville. 1993. Safety design considerations in deep-UV excimer laser photolithography. In Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing II. Cincinnati, OH: American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists.

Eskenazi B, EB Gold, B Lasley, SJ Samuels, SK Hammond, S Wright, MO Razor, CJ Hines, and MB Schenker. 1995. Prospective monitoring of early fetal loss and clinical spontaneous abortion among female semiconductor workers. Am J Indust Med 28(6):833–846.

Flipp, N, H Hunsaker, and P Herring. 1992. Investigation of hydride emissions during the maintenance of ion implantation equipment. Presented at the June 1992 American Industrial Hygiene Conference, Boston—Paper 379 (unpublished).

Goh, CL and SK Ng. 1987. Airborne contact dermatitis to colophony in soldering flux. Contact Dermatitis 17(2):89–93.

Hammond SK, CJ Hines MF Hallock, SR Woskie, S Abdollahzadeh, CR Iden, E Anson, F Ramsey, and MB Schenker. 1995. Tiered exposure assessment strategy in the Semiconductor Health Study. Am J Indust Med 28(6):661–680.

Harrison, RJ. 1986. Gallium arsenide. In State of the Art Reviews—Occupational Medicine: The Microelectronics Industry, edited by J LaDou Philadelphia, PA: Hanley & Belfus, Inc.

Hathaway, GL, NH Proctor, JP Hughes, and ML Fischman. 1991. Chemical Hazards of the Workplace, 3rd ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold.

Hausen, BM, K Krohn, and E Budianto. 1990. Contact allergy due to colophony (VII). Sensitizing studies with oxidation products of abietic acid and related acids. Contact Dermat 23(5):352–358.

Health and Safety Commission. 1992. Approved Code of Practice—Control of Respiratory Sensitizers. London: Health and Safety Executive.

Helb, GK, RE Caffrey, ET Eckroth, QT Jarrett, CL Fraust, and JA Fulton. 1983. Plasma processing: Some safety, health and engineering considerations. Solid State Technology 24(8):185–194.

Hines, CJ, S Selvin, SJ Samuels, SK Hammond, SR Woskie, MF Hallock, and MB Schenker. 1995. Hierarchical cluster analysis for exposure assessment of workers in the Semiconductor Health Study. Am J Indust Med 28(6):713–722.

Horowitz, MR. 1992. Nonionizing radiation issues in a semiconductor R and D facility. Presented at the June 1992 American Industrial Hygiene Conference, Boston—Paper 122 (unpublished).

Jones, JH. 1988. Exposure and control assessment of semiconductor manufacturing. AIP Conf. Proc. (Photovoltaic Safety) 166:44–53.

LaDou, J (ed.). 1986. State of the Art Reviews—Occupational Medicine: The Microelectronics Industry. Philadelphia, PA: Hanley and Belfus, Inc.

Lassiter, DV. 1996. Work injury and illness surveillance on an international basis. Proceedings of the Third International ESH Conference, Monterey, CA.

Leach-Marshall, JM. 1991. Analysis of radiation detected from exposed process elements from the krypton-85 fine leak testing system. SSA Journal 5(2):48–60.

Lead Industries Association. 1990. Safety in Soldering, Health Guidelines for Solderers and Soldering. New York: Lead Industries Association, Inc.

Lenihan, KL, JK Sheehy, and JH Jones. 1989. Assessment of exposures in gallium arsenide processing: A case study. In Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing, edited by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers.

Maletskos, CJ and PR Hanley. 1983. Radiation protection considerations of ion implantation systems. IEEE Trans on Nuclear Science NS-30:1592–1596.

McCarthy, CM. 1985. Worker Exposure during Maintenance of Ion Implanters in the Semiconductor Industry. Masters thesis, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, 1984. Summarized in Extended Abstracts, Electrochem Soc 85(2):448.

McCurdy SA, C Pocekay, KS Hammond, SR Woskie, SJ Samuels, and MB Schenker. 1995. A cross-sectional survey of respiratory and general health outcomes among semiconductor industry workers. Am J Indust Med 28(6):847–860.

McIntyre, AJ and BJ Sherin. 1989. Gallium arsenide: hazards, assessment, and control. Solid State Technology 32(9):119–126.

Microelectronics and Computer Technology Corporation (MCC). 1994. Electronics Industry Environmental Roadmap. Austin, TX: MCC.

—. 1996. Electronics Industry Environmental Roadmap. Austin, TX: MCC.

Mosovsky, JA, D Rainer, T Moses and WE Quinn. 1992. Transient hydride generation during III-semiconductor processing. Appl Occup Environ Hyg 7(6):375–384.

Mueller, MR and RF Kunesh. 1989. Safety and health implications of dry chemical etchers. In Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing, edited by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers.

O’Mara, WC. 1993. Liquid Crystal Flat Panel Displays. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold.

PACE Inc. 1994. Fume Extraction Handbook. Laurel, MD: PACE Inc.

Pastides, H, EJ Calabrese, DW Hosmer, Jr, and DR Harris. 1988. Spontaneous abortion and general illness symptoms among semiconductor manufacturers. J Occup Med 30:543–551.

Pocekay D, SA McCurdy, SJ Samuels, and MB Schenker. 1995. A cross-sectional study of musculoskeletal symptoms and risk factors in semiconductor workers. Am J Indust Med 28(6):861–871.

Rainer, D, WE Quinn, JA Mosovsky, and MT Asom. 1993. III-V transient hydride generation, Solid State Technology 36(6):35–40.

Rhoades, BJ, DG Sands, and VD Mattera. 1989. Safety and environmental control systems used in chemical vapor deposition (CVD) reactors at AT&T-Microelectronics-Reading. Appl Ind Hyg 4(5):105–109.

Rogers, JW. 1994. Radiation safety in semiconductors. Presented at the April 1994 Semiconductor Safety Association Conference, Scottsdale, AZ (unpublished).

Rooney, FP and J Leavey. 1989. Safety and health considerations of an x-ray lithography source. In Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing, edited by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers.

Rosenthal, FS and S Abdollahzadeh. 1991. Assessment of extremely low frequency (ELF) electric and magnetic fields in microelectronics fabrication rooms. Appl Occup Environ Hyg 6(9):777–784.

Roychowdhury, M. 1991. Safety, industrial hygiene, and environmental considerations for MOCVD reactor systems. Solid State Technology 34(1):36–38.

Scarpace, L, M Williams, D Baldwin, J Stewart, and D Lassiter. 1989. Results of industrial hygiene sampling in semiconductor manufacturing operations. In Hazard Assessment and Control Technology in Semiconductor Manufacturing, edited by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists. Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers.

Schenker MB, EB Gold, JJ Beaumont, B Eskenazi, SK Hammond, BL Lasley, SA McCurdy, SJ Samuels, CL Saiki, and SH Swan. 1995. Association of spontaneous abortion and other reproductive effects with work in the semiconductor industry. Am J Indust Med 28(6):639–659.

Schenker, M, J Beaumont, B Eskenazi, E Gold, K Hammond, B Lasley, S McCurdy, S Samuels, and S Swan. 1992. Final Report to the Semiconductor Industry Association—Epidemiologic Study of Reproductive and Other Health Effects among Workers Employed in the Manufacture of Semiconductors. Davis, CA: University of California.

Schmidt, R, H Scheufler, S Bauer, L Wolff, M Pelzing, and R Herzschuh. 1995. Toxicological investigations in the semiconductor industry: III: Studies on prenatal toxicity caused by waste products from aluminum plasma etching processes. Toxicol Ind Health 11(1):49–61.

SEMATECH. 1995. Silane Safety Transfer Document, 96013067 A-ENG. Austin, TX: SEMATECH.

—. 1996. Interprative Guide for SEMI S2-93 and SEMI S8-95. Austin, TX: SEMATECH.

Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA). 1995. World Semiconductor Sales Forecast Data. San Jose, CA: SIA.

Sheehy, JW and JH Jones. 1993. Assessment of arsenic exposures and controls in gallium arsenide production. Am Ind Hyg Assoc J 54(2):61–69.

Sober, DJ. 1995. Selecting Laminates Using “Fitness for Use” Criteria, Surface Mount Technology (SMT). Libertyville, IL: IHS Publishing Group.

Wade, R, M Williams, T Mitchell, J Wong, and B Tusé. 1981. Semiconductor industry study. San Francisco, CA: California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Occupational Safety and Health.